2015 Erasmus Mundus Joint International Master in Rural Development (IMRD) Scholarship Programme

Application Deadline: March 15th 2015

The joint International Master in Rural Development (IMRD), part of the European Commission’s Erasmus Mundus JMD programme, offers the opportunity to become an international expert on rural development in its diversity of approaches and applications, on a scholarship provided by the European Union.

The IMRD master course programme, is a high level academic programme aimed at training top students from all over the world into specialists in integrated rural development, focussed on socio-economic and institutional aspects; not only from the European Union but also from developed, developing and transition countries outside the EU.

The  IMRD master course programme is a 2 year master programme (120 ECTS) jointly organised by 16 worldwide leading universities in rural development and agricultural economics. The methodology consists of a combination of basic and specialised training in technical, economic and social sciences, a case study of one month, an individual master thesis and a high extent of student and scholar mobility.

Eligible Nationalities

All nationalities apply except for nationals from the Erasmus+ Programme countries.
Hence, only nationals of the flowing countries are not eligible for the Erasmus Mundus JMD Scholarships


  • Are you a Bachelor/Master
  • interested in Rural Development and Agricultural Economics ?
  • Seeking further specialisation through an International Masters Degree
  • interested in a multi-disciplinary and mobile training in Europe
  •  and, for European students, an experience in a non-European university, possibly financed on a scholarship ?

Through IMRD you can study at least one semester at the folowing universities:

Within Europe

  • Ghent University (Belgium)
  • ESPOL (Ecuador)
  • Humboldt University of Berlin (Germany)
  • China Agricultural University (China)
  • Agrocampus Ouest (France)

Outside Europe

  •  Nanjing Agricultural University (China)
  • University of Pisa (Italy)
  • University of Arkansas (USA)
  • Wageningen University (The Netherlands)
  • University of Pretoria (South Africa)
  • Slovak University of Agriculture in Nitra (Slovakia)
  • University of Agricultural Sciences of Bangalore (India)

Depending on their geographic interest and foreseen specialisation, students may opt for a regional and specific comparative course programme which leads to the awarding of a double degree on rural development and agricultural Economics (i.e. the IMRD joint diploma + a national diploma of a non-EU partner).

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the Erasmus Mundus Joint International Master in Rural Development


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.