Call for Nominations: 16th edition of the UNESCO-Sharjah Prize for Arab Culture (US$60 000)

Application Deadline: 31 August 2018.

UNESCO calls for candidatures for the UNESCO-Sharjah Prize for Arab Culture. Awarded since 2001, the Prize was established in 1998 in collaboration with the Government of Sharjah (United Arab Emirates) and is now at its 16th edition.

UNESCO and the government of Sharjah encourage you to propose qualified candidates who deserve recognition for their literary, scientific or artistic achievements, as well as for their global dissemination of Arab culture – independent of any religious considerations.

Established in 1998, the UNESCO-Sharjah Prize for Arab Culture rewards, each year, two laureates – individuals, groups or institutions – who, through their work and outstanding achievements, endeavour to disseminate greater knowledge of Arab art and culture.

Applicants to the UNESCO-Sharjah Prize for Arab culture must have contributed significantly towards the development, dissemination and the promotion of Arab culture in the world. The winners are chosen by the Director-General of UNESCO, on the recommendation of an international Jury of experts in the field of Arab Culture and having distinguished themselves, over several years, by meritorious actions. Thus, the winners contribute to the promotion of cultural dialogue and the revitalization of Arab culture.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • The Prize fulfils the organization’s fundamental mission of promoting intercultural dialogue by rewarding significant contributions made by two eminent individuals, groups or institutions (one from the Arab States and the other from elsewhere) to the development, promotion and spread of Arab culture through artistic, or intellectual work that enhances mutual understanding.
  • Proposed candidates should have earned an international reputation in their field of competence.
  • Bearing in mind the significant contribution of women, please take this opportunity to propose renowned female candidates.


  • Laureates are awarded the Prize (with an amount of US$60 000, divided equally between two laureates), in recognition of their contribution – in their respective disciplines – to Arab art and culture, or for participating in the dissemination of the latter outside the Arab world.
  • Together, the prize winners have come to represent a new generation of researchers, artists, philosophers, authors and translators with a profound desire to achieve a genuine dialogue between Arab culture and other cultures.

How to submit your nomination

  • The Organization has established a rigorous process for selecting candidates. We encourage you, therefore, to propose the most qualified candidates from your country. Candidatures can be submitted online only.
  • Send an e-mail to the Secretariat of the Prize, prix.sharjah(at); tel.: +33 1 45 68 09 66, with the name and e-mail of the person authorized to submit your nominees on your behalf.
  • The Prize Secretariat will then send all necessary information to this person. The Secretariat is available to respond to any queries.
  • Nominations for the Prize should be submitted no later than 31 August 2018.


For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the UNESCO-Sharjah Prize for Arab Culture


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.