The Engineering for Development (E4D) Continuing Education Scholarship Programme 2019

Application Deadline: 30 November 2019

The Engineering for Development (E4D) Continuing Education Scholarship Programme awards scholarships to candidates from low-income countries to attend continuing education programmes at ETH Zurich. The goal of the programme is to enhance the knowledge and skills of future leaders with the perspective of contributing to capacity development and poverty reduction in their home countries. The E4D programme is funded through the Sawiris Foundation for Social Development.

The E4D Continuing Education Scholarship Programme covers ETH Master of Advanced Studies (MAS), Diploma of Advanced Studies (DAS) and Certificate ofAdvanced Studies (CAS) programmes.

Type of programmes eligible for the E4D scholarship

All MAS, DAS and CAS programmes at ETH Zurich are open for E4D Continuing Education Scholarships

Financial Support

The E4D Continuing Education Scholarship covers the following expenses:

•Economy roundtrip ticket (max. 2’000 CHF)
•Visa fees
•Living allowance for the duration of the programme: 2’000 CHF per month if the programme is longer than 3 weeks (full-time programme). 800 CHF per week if the programme duration is up to 3 weeks.
•ETH general tuition fee: 580 CHF per semester (in the form of a tuition fee waiver)

Note: Programme fees cannot be covered by the E4D Continuing Education Scholarship. Some of the programmes offer a fee reduction for candidates from low-income countries. Please get in touch with the programme management to inquire whether a fee reduction can be granted.


The candidate must hold a completed and recognised Master’s degree from a university and proof of professional working experience of at least 2 years.
The minimal English standard is TOEFL level C1.
The scholarship is open to candidates from countries classified as Least Developed Countries, Low Income Countries and Lower Middle Income Countries according to the DAC-list of the OECD5.

A list of eligible countries can be found in Attachment 1.

Moreover, the candidate must have been accepted to an ETH MAS, DAS or CAS programme based on his/her academic and professional qualifications.

Application Process

The application process comprises two steps.

1. Application to the selected MAS, DAS or CAS programme.
2. Application to the E4D Continuing Education Scholarship Programme.

Note: Candidates will only be considered for an E4D Continuing Education Scholarship if admitted to an ETH MAS, DAS or CAS programme.


30 April 2019
30 November 2019

Please submit your application to [email protected].

Application Criteria

Motivation letter, stating the motivation to attend the programme and the impact for the candidate’s career development and beyond
Curriculum Vitae
University Diploma and transcripts
Two professional references
Certificate of employment

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the E4D Continuing Education Scholarship Programme 2019


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.