2015 Commonwealth Youth Awards for Excellence in Development Work (£1,000 grant for Youths Making a Positive Difference).

Nomination Deadline: 30 October 2014
Do you know of a young person making a positive difference to the lives of other people in your community or country?
The Commonwealth Youth Programme (CYP) is inviting nominations for the 2015 Commonwealth Youth Awards for Excellence in Development Work.
The Commonwealth Youth Award for Excellence in Development Work is funded by the Commonwealth Youth Programme (CYP) of the Commonwealth Secretariat. The CYP works with 53 Commonwealth member countries across Asia, Africa, Europe, the Pacific, the Caribbean and the Americas.
The Commonwealth is  looking for young people aged between 15 and 29 years, whose development work demonstrates the Commonwealth’s Plan of Action for
Youth Empowerment, to:
  • Promote youth participation in decision making
  • Promote economic empowerment of young people
  • Take action for equality between young women and young men
  • Promote peaceful and democratic environment in which human rights flourish
  • Provide quality education for all
  • Improve access to information and communication technology
  • Promote health, development and values through sport and culture
  • Engage young people to protect the environment.
Criteria for nomination:
  • The nominee must have been engaged in their development work for more than 12 months either in a professional or voluntary capacity
  • The development work must be ongoing and in a Commonwealth member country
  • The nominee should not be older than 29 on 31 December 2015
  • Individuals cannot nominate themselves
  • Nominees should give permission for their names to be put forward
  • The winner must agree to take part in publicity and activities generated by the Commonwealth.
Development work can be in any number of areas including:
  • Agriculture, agri-business
  • Arts and culture for development and peace
  • Education, peer education
  • Enterprise development, youth employment
  • Climate change, environment protection
  • Health and wellbeing (including work on HIV/AIDS)
  • Human rights and democracy
  • Information and communication technology
  • Journalism, media, public awareness raising
  • Peace building
  • Science and technology
  • Sport for peace and development
  • Sustainable development, poverty reduction.

Selection Criteria:

  • Awards will be decided on the basis of:
  • Quality of impact
  • Level of innovation/fresh approaches to problem-solving
  • Quality of achievement
  • Quality of the evidence provided
  • Sustainability: building capacity of future generations to meet their own needs


  • The sixteen regional finalists will receive a £1,000 grant, a trophy and a certificate.
  • The four regional winners will receive an additional £2,000 a trophy, and a certificate.
  • The Pan-Commonwealth award winner will receive £5,000 in total, a trophy and a certificate.
  • The sixteen finalists  will be invited to receive their awards at an official ceremony.
  •  Grants will be awarded to advance the development work of finalists.
How many awards are given each year?
Four finalists from each region are selected (sixteen overall). From these finalists, one from each region will be chosen to receive a Regional Commonwealth Award. An overall Pan-Commonwealth winner will be decided from among the four regional award winners.
For more information:
The Co-ordinator Commonwealth Youth Awards
Commonwealth Secretariat, Marlborough House
Pall Mall, London, SW1Y 5HX, United Kingdom


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.