2015 Kurt Schork Memorial Fund Awards in International Journalism (US$5,000 prize at a ceremony in London)

Application Deadline: May 31st 2015

The 2015 Kurt Schork Memorial Fund Awards in International Journalism is accepting submissions.

Entrants have until midnight (GMT) on May 31 to submit three separate stories.

Local reporters and freelance journalists (see definitions below) working anywhere in the world may enter, provided their entries meet the submission criteria set out below. You can use an online form to send your article(s) or download a .pdf form for printing, completing and posting with your entry.

2015 Submission criteria:

  • Submitted articles must have been published between June 1, 2014 and May 31, 2015.
  • Accepted media: any print-based medium, such as newspapers and magazines, or established online publications. Blogs, personal websites and social media pages or channels are not accepted.
  • Articles can encompass war reporting, human rights issues, cross-border troubles, corruption or other controversial matters impacting on people’s lives. Judges will be looking for professionalism, high journalistic standards, and evidence of dedication and courage in obtaining the story.
  • Three separate articles must be submitted
  • Because of problems with scanned entries and failed links in previous years, we require that each article must be provided as a text file – MS Word (.doc or .docx) or similar text format (.rtf), or a PDF of a text file.
  • You may supply a URL link to your article(s), or a scan (as a PDF or JPG file) as supporting evidence of the publication context, but your entry will be automatically disqualified if you do not also submit the required text files.

Additional material you must provide:

  • a CV or resumé about your education and journalism career.
  • a passport-type photo (JPEG, GIF or PNG file, size no larger than 250Kb).
  • a high standard English translation if your original article is in another language.
  • a short statement explaining what you had to do to get the story.

The maximum file size for text submissions or scans is 5Mb.


  • The awards feature two categories: freelance journalists covering international news and local reporters covering events in their home country or region.
  • Each winner receives a US$5,000 prize at a ceremony in London on Thursday, October 29.
  • Entrants must submit three articles each – published between June 1, 2014 and May 31, 2015.

Local reporter: A print journalist employed by a local news outlet and residing in a developing country or nation in transition (non-OECD or EU countries) whose work is published in a local publication, or a local journalist living in and writing about such a country whose work is published globally by an established online publication.

Freelance journalist: Freelance journalists are individuals who are not employed by a news organization. They are self-employed, providing services either on the basis of time or on the production of editorial materials defined by individual contractual arrangements and earn the majority of their income from journalism.

How to Apply:

E-Mail: [email protected].

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the Kurt Schork Awards in International Journalism




One response to “2015 Kurt Schork Memorial Fund Awards in International Journalism (US$5,000 prize at a ceremony in London)”

  1. […] The Kurt Schork Memorial Fund (KSMF) is now accepting submissions for its 2019 awards in international journalism. […]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.