Here is a database of resources:

African Regional Bodies:

The East African Community : The East African Community (EAC) is an intergovernmental organisation comprising five countries in the African Great Lakes region in eastern Africa: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda

The Arab Maghreb Union:– Inactive

The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa : The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa is a Free Trade Areas with twenty member states stretching from Libya to Swaziland

The Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) : It is an Economic Community of the African Union for promotion of regional economic co-operation in Central Africa

The Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS): Communauté économique des États de l’Afrique de l’Ouest, CEDEAO) is a regional group of fifteen West African countries.

The Southern African Development Community (SADC) is an inter-governmental organization headquartered in Gaborone, Botswana. Its goal is to further socio-economic cooperation and integration as well as political and security cooperation among 15 southern African states.

 The Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD) is an eight-country trade bloc in Eastern Africa. It includes governments from the Horn of Africa, Nile Valley, and the African Great Lakes.


Sub-Regional Court of Justice:

ECOWAS Community Court of Justice

East African Court of Justice

Southern African Development Community Tribunal


Intergovernmental Organizations:

The Commonwealth of Nations, commonly known as the Commonwealth (formerly the British Commonwealth), is an intergovernmental organisation of 53 member states that were mostly territories of the former British Empire.

The Arab League , formally, the League of Arab States, is a regional organization of Arab countries in and around North Africa, the Horn of Africa, and Southwest Asia.

The Organisation internationale de la Francophonie (OIF), known informally and more commonly as La Francophonie (or, more simply, Francophonie)  is an international organization representing countries and regions where French is the first (« mother ») or customary language; and/or where a significant proportion of the population are francophones (French speakers); and/or where there is a notable affiliation with French culture.

The organization comprises 57 member states and governments, three associate members and twenty observers.

The Community of Portuguese Language Countries or Community of Portuguese-Speaking Countries is the intergovernmental organization for friendship and cooperation among lusophone (Portuguese-speaking) nations, where Portuguese is an official language

List of United Nations Organizations:


The United Nations (UN) is an intergovernmental organization established on 24 October 1945 to promote international co-operation.

The Charter of the United Nations establishes six principal organs of the United Nations:


  1. The United Nations General Assembly (The main deliberative assembly);
  2. The United Nations Security Council  (Responsible for the maintenance of international peace and security.);
  3. The United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) United Nations organ facilitating international cooperation on standards-making and problem-solving in economic and social issues);
  4. The United Nations Secretariat (Responsible for providing studies, information, and facilities needed by the UN);
  5.  The International Court of Justice (The principal judicial organ of the United Nations); and
  6.  The United Nations Trusteeship Council





 The United Nations University, (UNU), established in 1973, is the academic and research arm of the United Nations.