2014 World Habitat Awards.


Application Deadline: November 1st 2013

The World Habitat Awards were established in 1985 by the Building and Social Housing Foundation as part of its contribution to the United Nations International Year of Shelter for the Homeless.

Two awards are given annually to projects that provide practical and innovative solutions to current housing needs and problems.

Every year an award of £10,000 is presented to each of the two winners at the annual United Nations global celebration of World Habitat Day.

Submissions are welcomed for the 2014 World Habitat Awards.

Housing projects & approaches are sought that

  • demonstrate practical, innovative and sustainable solutions to current housing issues faced by countries all around the world
  • can be transferred or adapted for use as appropriate
  • are already being implemented or are completed ie not at design, planning or early stages of development
  • view the term habitat from a broad perspective and bring other benefits as well, such as energy or water saving, income generation, social inclusion, community and individual empowerment, health benefits, capacity building or education.

All entries are assessed and ten to twelve projects are shortlisted by an assessment committee. These shortlisted projects are then evaluated by an independent advisory group.

Evaluation visits are made to some of the shortlisted projects before recommendations are put forward to a panel of external judges, including the Executive Director of the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-HABITAT).

Who can enter

  • Any individual, organisation or government who has an innovative and practical solution to housing needs and problems from any country of the world.
  • More than one entry can be made by the same individual or organisation.
  • Entries should relate to housing projects and processes that are either completed or in progress. Those that are at design stage only or in the very early stages of development cannot be considered.
  • Previous entrants can re-submit in subsequent years providing that the project has been further developed in the intervening time period.

Entry procedure

Initial submissions should comprise a concise description of the key aspects of the project or approach, accompanied by images where possible.

Full plans, costings and evaluation reports are not required at this stage, although can be supplied if you wish to do so (the main headings under which information should be supplied are set out on the entry form).

Submissions can be made in English, Spanish or French and must be received by 1st November 2013.

All entries are assessed and ten to twelve projects are shortlisted by an assessment committee.  These shortlisted projects are then evaluated by an independent advisory group.


For the WHA 2014 Competition

1st November 2013 – Deadline for receipt of submissions.

December 2013 – Notification of shortlisted projects

1st February 2014 – Deadline for further information from shortlisted projects

February to July 2014 – Evaluation of shortlisted projects’ submissions

August 2014 – Announcement of the winners of the World Habitat Awards 2014

October 2014 – Presentation of the Awards on World Habitat Day.

Submissions for the 2014 competition must be received by 1st November 2013.

Apply Online Now for the 2014 World Habitat Awards

For More Information

Visit the Official Webpage of the World Habitat Awards


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.