African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD) Fellowship 2014.


Application Deadline: August 9 2013

AWARD is a career-development program that equips top women agricultural scientists across sub-Saharan Africa to accelerate agricultural gains by strengthening their research and leadership skills through tailored fellowships. AWARD is a catalyst for innovations with high potential to contribute to the prosperity and well-being of African smallholder farmers, most of whom are women.

AWARD Fellows benefit from two-year fellowships focused on fostering mentoring partnerships, building science skills, and developing leadership capacity. Fellows stay in their institutions, continue their research, and travel to AWARD training courses held in various locations in Africa.


Women agricultural scientists who are citizens of Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, or Zambia, who have completed a bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral degree, particularly in the disciplines listed below, are eligible to apply. There is no age restriction.

Agricultural economics Ecology Molecular biology (plant/animal breeding)
Agricultural engineering Entomology Natural resources management
Agronomy Extension education Plant/animal virology
Animal and livestock sciences Food science and nutrition Soil science
Aquatic resources and fisheries Forestry and agroforestry Veterinary sciences
Biodiversity conservation Horticulture Water and irrigation management
Crop science

Fellowships are awarded on the basis of intellectual merit, leadership capacity, and the potential of the scientist’s research to improve the livelihoods of African smallholder farmers, most of whom are women.

Apply: Download the application form at the top of this page. For answers to Frequently Asked Questions,click here.

Applicants have until August 9, 2013 to apply for an AWARD Fellowship.

Applications received after the deadline and incomplete applications will NOT be accepted. Winners will be notified in December 2013.

Successful candidates must be available to attend one of the three five-day AWARD Mentoring Orientation Workshops to be held in February/March in Kenya. Dates to be announced.

AWARD is generously supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, United States Agency for International Development, Agropolis Fondation, and the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa. AWARD is a preferred service provider of the Consultative Group on International Agricultural Research (CGIAR), and is hosted by the CGIAR’s World Agroforestry Centre.

African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD)
Hosted by the World Agroforestry Centre
United Nations Avenue, Gigiri
P.O. Box 30677-00100, Nairobi, Kenya

Email: [email protected]

Download Application Form
Download Application Guidelines


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.