IWMF 2021 Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award

Application Deadline: May 28th 2021

The Anja Niedringhaus Courage in Photojournalism Award was created to honor the life and work of Pulitzer Prize-winning AP photographer and IWMF Courage in Journalism Award winner Anja Niedringhaus (1965-2014). With this Award, the IWMF celebrates the courageous work of women photojournalists like Anja.

The Award recognizes the importance of visual journalistic work that inspires us to take action and compels us to better understand the world. Created in 2014 with a $1 million gift from the Howard G. Buffett Foundation, the Award will be given annually to a woman photojournalist whose work reflects courage and dedication, as Anja’s does. The Award winner will be publicly honored, have her work showcased, and receive a cash prize of $20,000.

Eligibility Criteria:

  • Full-time journalists.
  • Journalism must be a candidate’s primary vocation.
  • Both freelance journalists and those affiliated with media organizations are eligible.
  • Identify as women.

Nomination and Application Guidelines:

  • Sign up for a VISURA Basic/Free, Standard, Plus, Prime or Guild membership account to submit for consideration.
  • Each nomination and application must include candidate informationwork samples made up of a series of 12 photographs, and a candidate/nomination statement.

For Work Sample:

**The required work samples are 12 photographs that best represent the scope and style of the candidate’s work, within the context of challenging reporting environments.
**All submissions are made via a “Story” created from your Visura photographer’s dashboard.
**Stories should be set to ‘private’ within the Visura system.
**Image size: minimum 1600px on the longest dimension (22.5 inches @ 72 dpi, JPG format)
**Each photograph must be accompanied by a caption describing the date, place, and situation captured.
**Six (6) of the photos must have been taken within the past two years (2019-2021). The other six can be taken at any time during the candidate’s career.
**Limit one story per photographer.

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the IWMF 2021 Anja Niedringhaus Courage In Photojournalism Award


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.