The 2013 Peter Drucker Award for Nonprofit Innovation ($100,000 Prize)


Application Deadline: July 1 2013 

The Peter F. Drucker Award for Nonprofit Innovation is given each fall to a nonprofit organization that best demonstrates Druckerʼs definition of innovation: “change that creates a new dimension of performance.” The award has been given annually since 1991 and is accompanied by a first-place prize of $100,000. The program is generously supported by The Coca-Cola Foundation.

The purpose of the annual Peter F. Drucker Award for Nonprofit Innovation is to find the innovators, whether small or large; to recognize and celebrate their example; and to inspire others.

The Drucker Award application has been designed as a teaching tool, providing those organizations that fill it out with some of Peter Drucker’s key insights on innovation. Last year, 96% of respondents to an Institute survey indicated that the application had, in fact, given them a better understanding of how their program was innovative and 86% were prompted “to explore additional opportunities for innovation.”
The 2012 first-place Drucker Award winner was The American Refugee Committee, a Minneapolis-based nonprofit that has engaged the global Somali community to help shape and lead ARC’s humanitarian response in their native country. The award recognized, in particular, ARC’s I AM A STAR program for leveraging the direct involvement of the Somali diaspora community to improve the lives of 170,000 people on the ground in Somalia by providing them with clean water, sanitation and healthcare.

ARC based its model on a simple premise: A country’s global diaspora is not a lost resource but, rather, the greatest asset available in building a humanitarian response in that country.

Past First-Place Winners

2012 I AM A STAR, American Refugee Committee
2011 Direct Relief International
2010 Safe Families for Children, Lydia Home Association
2009 Center for Court Innovation
2008 KickStart International
2007 Brooklyn Workforce Innovations
2006 United Through Reading
2005 The Landscape Bank, Keep Alachua County Beautiful
2004 Wheel Get There, Minnesota Valley Action Council
2003 River Falls First Responders
2002 Crafts with Conviction, Crayons to Computers
2001 The Eloy Model, Florence Immigrant & Refugee Rights Project
2000 Peer Educator Training Program, SAGE Project
1999 California Transportation Training Institute, California Emergency Foodlink
1998 Times Square Jobs Training Program, Common Ground Community
1997 Computer Clubhouse, The Computer Museum
1996 Second Family Program, Lutheran Social Services of Illinois
1995 ECO-O.K. Banana Project, Rainforest Alliance
1994 Community Schools, Children’s Aid Society
1993 Project Teamwork, Center for Study of Sport in Society
1992 Parish Partnership Transitional Housing Program, Lutheran Family and Children’s Services of Missouri
1991 Living in Family Environments, Judson Center

Apply Now for the 2013 Peter Drucker Award for Nonprofit Innovation

For More Information

 Drucker Institute Webpage

[email protected]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.