The World Academy of Sciences Regional Office for sub-Saharan Africa (TWAS-ROSSA) Regional Prize 2016

Application Deadline: June 20th 2016

The World Academy of Sciences Regional Office for sub-Saharan Africa (TWAS-ROSSA) seeks to honour an outstanding scientist who has played key roles in the establishment of lively scientific institutions and also who has significantly expanded the activities of established institution(s) in the developing world. The prize is awarded in fulfilment of the TWAS objective of recognising, supporting and promoting scientific capacity and excellence in the developing world.
The Award
  • The award comprises an award certificate with a citation on the winner’s scientific achievement,as well as a cash prize of 3000USD.
  • The winner will be announced at the annual TWAS General Assembly and Conference which will be held from 12– 17 November 2016 in Kigali, Rwanda.
  • The prize will be awarded formally by TWAS-ROSSA at a suitable event thereafter.
  • Nominees must be nationals of countries in sub-Saharan Africa.
  • Nominees must have made significant contributions to the establishment and or expansion of scientific institutions in the developing world.


  • Nominations are invited from TWAS and AAS fellows, fellow/members of National Academies and Young Academies in the region, Research Institutions, Research Councils and Universities in the region.
  • The nomination of women is highly encouraged.
  • Self-nominations will not be considered.
  • Nominations accompanied by the Nomination Form and all the relevant documents must be submitted to [email protected] by 20 June 2016.
Selection of the awardee will be based on recommendations of a Selection Committee comprising of TWAS Fellows in sub-Saharan Africa.
For More Information:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.