UNESCO-Greece Melina Mercouri International Prize 2021 for the Safeguarding and Management of Cultural Landscapes (US $30,000 Prize)

Application Deadline: 30 April 2021

The UNESCO-Greece Melina Mercouri International Prize for the Safeguarding and Management of Cultural Landscapes was created in 1995 to reward outstanding examples of action to safeguard and enhance the world’s cultural landscapes, a category of World Heritage.

The Prize, generously supported by the Greek Government, bears the name of Melina Mercouri, former Minister of Culture of Greece and a strong advocate of integrated conservation.

The US $30,000 Prize is awarded every two years to one laureate.

The last Prize was awarded in November 2019, in connection with the 40th Session of the UNESCO General Conference.

  • Requirements
  • Governmental agencies from UNESCO Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions for UNESCO;
  • NGOs that have official partnerships with UNESCO; and
  • International, regional and national professional, academic and non-governmental organizations active in the field of cultural landscapes.

  • Eligibility

Individuals, site managers, institutions, other entities, communities or non-governmental organizations (NGOs) that have made a significant contribution to the safeguarding, management and enhancement of the world’s major cultural landscapes.

How to apply?

Submit a nomination form online, in English or French, before 30 April 2021 (midnight Paris time) 


  • 1 February 2021
    (only tentative date pending the CL publication)
    Call for nominations for the 2021 Prize
  • 30 April 2021
    Deadline for submitting nominations.
  • November 2021
    Prize award ceremony at the UNESCO Headquarters, Paris, France

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the UNESCO-Greece Melina Mercouri International Prize 2021


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.