United Kingdom-Commonwealth Academic Fellowships Awards for mid-career academics 2014.

Application Deadline: December 3rd 2013

Commonwealth Academic Fellowships for mid-career academics from developing Commonwealth countries are offered to enable award holders to spend three months at a UK university updating their skills and knowledge. These fellowships are funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID).


The main purpose of Commonwealth Academic Fellowships is to enhance the careers of recipients through the development of new skills and contacts, or through networking and updating knowledge and skills.

Research is not the main aim of these Fellowships and discrete research projects will not be supported. However, we do welcome the publication of joint research which may follow from a Fellowship.

A strong case will have to be made if a Fellowship is requested for a period of more than three months, with the aim of progressing collaborative research already underway between the home and proposed host university.

All applications require an email or letter of support from an academic at the proposed host university in the UK. Any application without such support will be deemed ineligible.


In most instances, nominations for Commonwealth Academic Fellowships are made by specific developing country universities, which are responsible for advertising the fellowships to their staff.

In Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka, nominations are made by the University Grants Commission. In Pakistan, nominations are made by the Higher Education Commission.

Each year, the CSC invites each nominating university/university body to forward a specific number of nominations. Each nominating university/university body is responsible for its own selection process, and in most cases they will set their own closing date, which will be before the CSC’s deadline for nominations (17 December 2013).

The CSC also invites alumni who held Commonwealth Scholarships for PhD to apply directly to the CSC for a Commonwealth Academic Fellowship. All eligible alumni will be sent a letter with details of how to apply.

Nominations for Commonwealth Academic Fellowships may be made
by invitation through the following channels:
•The Executive Head of an eligible developing country university on whose staff the applicant serves
•In the case of Bangladesh and India, nominations are made through
the University Grants Commission; in Pakistan, through the Higher Education Commisssion; and in Sri Lanka, through the Secretary, Ministry of Higher Education
• The Executive Head of selected developing country research institutes on whose staff the applicant serves A full list of universities/research institutes invited to nominate can be found on the CSC website. Those wishing to be considered for inclusion in the list of institutions invited should contact theExecutive Secretary of the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (c/o The Association of Commonwealth Universities, Woburn House, 20-24 Tavistock Square, London WC1H 9HF).
Applications must be submitted using the Commission’s Electronic Application System (EAS), a link to which is available on our website at applications must be submitted to and endorsed by one of the approved nominating bodies detailed above.Please note that all Fellowship candidates must complete their application using the EAS by 3 December 2013.

The Commission regrets that it is unable to accept nominations from
other organisations or applications directly from individuals, and that
these cannot be acknowledged.
To apply for a Commonwealth Academic Fellowship, candidates should:
• Be Commonwealth citizens, refugees, or British protected persons
• Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country(a full list is available at
•Be available to commence their Fellowship in the United Kingdom on 1 S
eptember 2014. Any other start date will only be permitted in exceptional circumstances
• Have been employed for at least five years as an academic staff member of a university in a developing Commonwealth country
• Be in the employment of the nominating university AND
• Hold a doctorate OR
•For awards to enhance clinical skills in the fields of medicine and dentistry
, have qualified as a doctor or dentist before 1 October 2004.
Please see for scholarship opportunities if you qualified after this date
The Commission wishes to promote equal opportunity, gender equity
and cultural exchange. Applications are encouraged from a diverse range
of candidates.

Terms and conditions and eligibility

Alumni who wish to apply directly to the CSC for a Commonwealth Academic Fellowship must:

  • have been awarded a PhD by a UK institution between 1 October 2002 and 1 October 2011, while holding a Commonwealth Scholarship
  • meet all the standard eligibility requirements
  • be from and be currently employed as an academic at a university in one of the following Commonwealth countries: Bangladesh, Barbados, Cameroon, Ghana, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Sierra Leone, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Trinidad, Uganda, Zambia

Applications are considered according to the following selection criteria:

  • Academic merit of the candidate
  • Quality of the proposal
  • Likely impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

See Selection criteria for 2014 Commonwealth Academic Fellowships for further details.

Candidates may also find the Feedback for unsuccessful candidates in 2013 useful.

How to apply

All applications must be made through your nominating university/university body in your home country. You must check with them in the first instance for specific advice on how to make an application and for their own closing date. The CSC cannot accept any applications direct from candidates except for those alumni individually invited to apply for an Academic Fellowship.

The CSC expects all Commonwealth Academic Fellowship to have completed an application form using our Electronic Application System (EAS).

Full help on how to apply using the EAS is provided in our guides, which should be read in full before making any attempt to use the EAS.

The EAS will close to applicants on 3 December 2013 and no further applications can be made after that date.

How to access the EAS

Please note that all enquiries about these scholarships should be directed to the nominating university/university body in your home country.

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the United Kingdom Commonwealth Academic Fellowships Awards for mid-career academics


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.