2013 East African Media Awards for Journalists

East Africa scholarships

The annual East African Media Awards is the premier regional competition for journalists, editors and commentators who cover/publish stories/articles/features and visual imagery promoting the East African Community (EAC) integration.

Organised jointly by the EAC and the East African Business Council (EABC), the Awards is been held for the third time. The Award aims at reinforcing the critical role of the media in driving the integration agenda and seeks to reward, recognise and encourage journalistic talent across media platforms in the various aspects of regional cooperation.

The EAC and EABC are proud to announce that submission of entries for the 3rd East African Media Awards 2013 is now open.

The competition is open to all bona fide practising journalists/commentators from the East African Community Partner States (Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda).

To qualify for the East African Media Awards 2013, all submissions must have been published or broadcast during the period 10th August 2012 – 1st September 2013.

How to apply
You can enter a maximum of three pieces per category; active website links for articles published online may be submitted by email, while print articles and radio/video clips may be submitted by email or post.

Submissions in any of the above formats may also be done via the Awards website: http://www.eac.int/mediasummit/

You may submit entries to any of the following categories (submission to more than one category is also allowed):

1) EABC Chairman’s Award (Business Reporting);

2) Green Award (Environment Reporting);

3) Financial Reporting Award

4) Political Reporting Award

5) Agriculture and Food Security Award

6) Photography Award

7) Health Reporting Award

8) EAC Secretary General’s Award (Overall Winner)

Entries not originally published in English may be submitted but an accompanying English translation (for print/online articles and radio/TV scripts) must be provided.

Detailed information on each category, formats for submission, additional guidelines for entry and the entry form can be accessed online from the Awards website: http://www.eac.int/mediasummit/

Prizes to be won include; cash prizes, an I-pad, a zoom camera, a trophy and a certificate, a week-long attachment to Communication EAC Secretariat. Do not miss out on this great opportunity

Submission deadline
Entries must reach the EAC and EABC Secretariats by Monday 30th September 2013. Entries after this date shall automatically be disqualified. Submissions by email should be sent to [email protected] or [email protected]

Submissions by post should be addressed to:
The Secretary General
East African Community SecretariatATTN: East African Media Awards 2013P.O. Box 1096Arusha, Tanzania


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.