2015 Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for Master’s level study in the United Kingdom.

Application Deadline: Varying According to Host University Check the Prospectus Below for Info.

Commonwealth Shared Scholarships are offered by the CSC in partnership with UK universities. These scholarships are intended for students from developing countries who would not otherwise be able to afford to undertake Master’s level study in the UK, to gain skills and knowledge which will allow them to contribute to the development of their home countries.

In 2015-2016, over 70 UK universities are jointly funding Shared Scholarships with the CSC.
To apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship, candidates must:
  • Be Commonwealth citizens, refugees, or British protected persons
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • Be available to commence their academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/October 2015
  • Hold, by October 2015, a first degree of at least upper second class Honours standard
  • Not have undertaken studies lasting one year or more in a developed country
  • Be unable themselves, or through their families, to pay to study in the UK

Levels and subjects of study

Shared Scholarships are for taught Masters’ courses only; awards will not be made for undergraduate or PhD study, and will not cover any pre-sessional English language teaching.

Candidates can apply to study subjects related to the development of their home country at participating UK universities only.

Value of awards
The CSC and host UK universities jointly meet the full costs of Commonwealth Shared Scholarships. Each Scholarship provides:
  • Student concessionary or other approved airfare to the United Kingdom and return on expiry of the Scholarship (arranged by the host university; funded by the CSC)
  • Approved tuition and examination fees (funded by the CSC)
  • A personal maintenance allowance at the rate of £977 per month (£1,208 per month for those studying at institutions in the London Metropolitan area) – rates quoted at 2014-2015 levels (paid and funded by the host university)
  • A grant of £225 towards the expenses of preparing a dissertation, where applicable ( claimed from the host university; funded by the CSC)
  • An initial arrival allowance, including visa reimbursement where applicable (funded by the host university)
  • A grant of £200 for expenses for approved study travel within the UK or overseas (claimed from the host university; funded by the CSC)
  • Excess baggage allowance for up to 10 kilograms of books only, when returning home (funded by the CSC)
The selection process
  • Candidates are recruited and selected by UK host universities in the first instance. Selection criteria include: the academic merit of the candidate, as well as the likely impact of their work on the development of their home country.
  • Host UK universities must forward details of their selected candidates to the CSC by 30 April 2015. Universities will inform candidates of their results by July 2015.
How can I apply?
All applications must be made through your host UK university. You must check with them in the first instance for specific advice on how to make an application and for their own closing date.
  • All Commonwealth Shared Scholarship candidates must be selected and put forward to the CSC by their host UK university, and must submit their application to the CSC using our Electronic Application System (EAS).
  • Candidates must apply for a Commonwealth Shared Scholarship using one of two methods, as instructed by the university:
1.Via university:
Applying to the university in the first instance using the university’s own application form. If selected, candidates will then be asked to submit an application to the CSC using the EAS. Any applications made via the EAS only and not directly to the university first will not be considered.
2.EAS only:
Applying to both the university and the CSC at the same time using the EAS.
The EAS will close to applicants on 16 April 2015 and no further applications can be submitted after that date. Candidates should note that most university closing dates fall before 16 April and you must submit your application by the date advised by the university to which you are applying
How to access the EAS
For More Information:


For More:

Visit the Official Website Of the Commonwealth Shared Scholarship


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.