2015 Yara Prize for Agricultural Innovation in Africa (USD 60 000) – Call for Nomination

Application Deadline: June 19 2015

The Yara Prize was established in 2005 as a direct response to the former UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan’s call for a green revolution in Africa in 2004. It aims at celebrating significant achievements related to food and nutrition security and sustainable agriculture with a transformative power.
2015 Yara Prize Theme
  • In 2015, the Yara Prize will have a special focus on  youth, women and agribusiness in Africa.
  • The prize will also consider strongly those individuals who have contributed towards catalysing transformational change in support of an African Green Revolution.


  • The Yara Prize can be awarded to any individual or identifiable group of individuals, as well as to established institutions, associations, organizations or government bodies with a formal and recognized judicial and organizational structure contributing to the overall objectives of the Prize.
  • The Prize can be awarded to any qualified candidate, irrespective of nationality, profession or location, whose work, and contributions deriving from the work, has had a clear impact on the African situation, nationally, regionally or for the continent.
  • The Prize can be awarded with reference to a specific contribution or achievement, or a series of efforts and results; recently or in the past, or over a period of time – judged as viable and in accordance with acknowledged principles of sustainability.

The Prize:

  • The Prize can be awarded to more than one winner, but not more than two. If shared, each winner will receive equal prize money (USD 60 000 divided in two), a diploma and a trophy.

Nomination Process:

  • To be eligible for the Prize, a nomination must be submitted in writing, in English or French.

In order to be considered by the Prize Committee, all nominations and supporting documentation must be received by June 19, 2015.

All nominations are confidential and the identity of the nominator, or nominating organization, will be kept in confidence.

Nominations should be sent to:

The Yara Prize 2015
Attn: Svein Flatebø
Address: Yara Prize Secretariat, P.O. Box 343 Skøyen, N-0213 Oslo, Norway
Tel: + 47 97 65 79 90
e-mail: [email protected]

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the 2015 Yara Prize


  1. […] The Africa Food Prize is the preeminent award for recognizing the extraordinary individual or institution whose contributions to African agriculture are forging a new era of sustainable food security and economic opportunity for all Africans. The US $100,000 prize celebrates Africans who are taking control of Africa’s agriculture agenda and changing the reality of farming in Africa from a struggle to survive to a business that thrives. It puts a bright spotlight on bold initiatives and technical innovations that can be replicated across the continent. The Africa Food Prize is funded by AGRA and Yara International ASA. Its winners are selected by a panel of independent and distinguished leaders in African agriculture chaired by former Nigerian President Olusegun Obasanjo. Both the Committee and Chair receive no remuneration for their work. The Prize will be awarded annually at the African Green Revolution Forum, starting with the 2016 AGRF scheduled for 5th until the 9th of September in Nairobi, Kenya. Objectives […]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.