2015/2016 IBM Ph.D. Fellowship Awards Program for Ph.D Students (Fully Funded).

Application Deadline:October 28, 2014

The IBM Ph.D. Fellowship Awards Program is an intensely competitive worldwide program, which honors exceptional Ph.D. students who have an interest in solving problems that are important to IBM and fundamental to innovation in many academic disciplines and areas of study.

Area of Study

  • computer science and engineering (including cyber security, cloud, and mobile computing),
  • electrical and mechanical engineering,
  • physical sciences (including chemistry, material sciences, and physics),
  • mathematical sciences (including analytics of massive scale data with uncertainty,
  • operations research, and optimization),
  • public sector and business sciences (including urban policy and analytics, social technologies, learning systems and Cognitive Computing), and
  • Service Science, Management, and Engineering (SSME).


  • Students must be nominated by a doctoral faculty member and enrolled full-time in a college or university Ph.D. program.
  • The faculty member is encouraged to contact an IBM colleague prior to submitting the nomination to assure mutual interest.
  • Students from Europe and Russia may be nominated in their first year of study in their doctoral program.
  • Outside of Europe and Russia, students must have completed at least one year of study in their doctoral program at the time of their nomination.
  • Recipients will be selected based on their overall potential for research excellence, the degree to which their technical interests align with those of IBM, and their academic progress to-date, as evidenced by publications and endorsements from their faculty advisor and department head.

The Fellowship:

  • The IBM Ph.D. Fellowships are awarded worldwide. IBM Ph.D. Fellows are awarded a stipend for one academic year.
  • Fellowships vary by country/geographic area, and the students will be informed at the time of the award what the value is for their country/geographic area.
  • All IBM Ph.D. Fellows are matched with an IBM Mentor according to their technical interests, and they are strongly encouraged to participate in at least one internship at IBM while completing their studies.
  • Interns are paid by their host site and will be subject to the prevailing terms and conditions of the internship program at that site. IBM is an equal opportunity employer.
  • After receiving an award, an Award Recipient may be renominated the following year for consideration to receive another IBM Ph.D. Fellowship, based on the Award Recipient’s continued exceptional academic standing, progress and achievement, and sustained interaction with IBM’s technical community.
  • A student may compete annually and be awarded a maximum of three years. IBM requests that a maximum of two nominations per department be submitted, in addition to any renewal nominations.

Apply Now for the IBM Ph.D Fellowship

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the IBM P.h.D Fellowship


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.