2016 UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education (Monetary Award of USD 100,000

Application Deadline: 20 April 2016

The UNESCO Prize for Girls’ and Women’s Education was established in 2015 for an initial period of five years (2016-2020) and is generously supported by the Government of the People’s Republic of China.
50,000 for each winner.
The purpose of the Prize is to reward outstanding efforts of individuals, institutions or non-governmental organizations that contribute to the advancement of education for girls and women. The Prize aims to contribute to two Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs): “Ensure inclusive and equitable quality education and promote lifelong learning opportunities for all” (Goal 4) and “Achieve gender equality and
empower all women and girls” (Goal 5).
Eligible Candidates
Candidates shall have made outstanding innovation in and significant contributions to supporting and/or promoting girls’ and women’s education. Prizes may be conferred upon individuals, institutions, or non-governmental organizations that have effectively promoted the advancement of girls’ and women’s education, with a focus on, for example:
  • girls’ transition from primary education to lower-secondary education and their completion of full basic education;
  • adolescent girls’ and young women’s acquisition of literacy skills;
  • creating gender-responsive and safe teaching-learning environments, free of school-related gender-based violence (SRGBV);
  • the development of gender-responsive teaching attitudes and practices among teachers; and
  • adolescent girls’ and young women’s acquisition of knowledge and skills to help their smooth transition from school to work and lead a fulfilling life.

  • The Prize will be awarded annually to two winners and consists of a monetary award of USD 50,000 for each winner.
Selection Process
  • The Prize winners will be selected by the Director-General of UNESCO on the basis of recommendations made by an international Jury of five recognized experts in the area of girls’ and women’s education.
  • The 2016 edition of the Prize will be awarded at an official ceremony to be held in China.
Application Procedure:
Required steps to submit an application
1. Application form: download the application form from UNESCO’s girls and women education website (https://en.unesco.org/themes/women-and-girls-education), and complete the form either in English or in French;
2. Supporting materials: applicants are encouraged to include relevant supporting materials such as videos, publications, CD-ROMs etc.;
3. Written recommendation: all applications must be accompanied by a written recommendation of a government entity of the Member State or a non-governmental organization in official partnership with UNESCO;
4. Submission: all applications must be submitted through National Commissions or non-governmental organizations in official partnership with UNESCO. National Commissions or non-governmental organizations in official partnership with UNESCO are requested to ensure that all applications received are complete before sending them to UNESCO via email at: [email protected] or by post to the following address:
Section of Education for Inclusion and Gender Equality
Division for Inclusion, Peace and Sustainable Development
Education Sector
7, place de Fontenoy
75352 Paris 07 SP, France
Tel: +33(0)1 45 68 11 73
For More Information:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.