جوائز مؤسسة 2018 OWSD-Elsevier للعلماء الموهوبات في العالم المتقدم في العالم النامي

الموعد النهائي لتقديم الطلبات: سبتمبر 28th 2018

بدأت في 2010 من قبل مؤسسة إلسفير, TWAS و OWSD ، مكافأة المكافآت وتشجيع النساء العاملات والعاملين في البلدان النامية الذين هم في المراحل المبكرة من حياتهم العلمية. يجب أن يكون لدى الحاصلين على جوائز تأثير واضح على بيئة البحث على المستويين الإقليمي والدولي ، وكثيراً ما يتغلبون على تحديات كبيرة لتحقيق التميز البحثي.

في 2010 ، تضمن هذا النظام اختيار 11 النساء الوظيفيات في وقت مبكر من البلدان النامية ، والعمل في مواضيع STEM. من 2013-2018 ، من أجل توفير مزيد من التركيز والرؤية ، تم تخفيض عدد الجوائز إلى 5 في السنة وتم تقديم التخصصات العلمية على دورة السنة 3.

في كل عام ، يتم تقديم خمس جوائز إلى خمس عالمات في المراحل المبكرة نسبيا من حياتهم المهنية (حتى عشر سنوات بعد تلقي شهادة الدكتوراه). تُمنح امرأة واحدة لكل منطقة من مناطق المنظمة الأربع (بالإضافة إلى فائز إضافي من أي منطقة من المناطق الأربع): أفريقيا ؛ المنطقة العربية آسيا والمحيط الهادئ أمريكا اللاتينية ومنطقة البحر الكاريبي ؛ (انظر القائمة الكاملة للبلدان أدناه).

هذه الجائزة لها تأثير مهم على ثقافات البحث المحلية. يقول الفائزون السابقون أن الجوائز كان لها تأثير قوي ، مما يعزز من رؤية أعمالهم السابقة وخلق فرص جديدة للمستقبل. الحائزون على الجوائز هم قدوة قوية للشابات اللاتي يفكرن في البقاء في بيئة غالبا ما تكون معادية لاحتياجاتهن وخبراتهن.

جدارة

يجب أن يكون المرشح عالمًا أنثى ؛ وقد حصلت على الدكتوراه في غضون السنوات السابقة 10. عاشوا وعملوا في أحد البلدان النامية التالية خلال السنوات الثلاث التي سبقت الترشيح مباشرة:

أفريقيا

أنغولا وبنن وبوركينا فاسو وبوروندي والكاميرون وجمهورية أفريقيا الوسطى وتشاد وجزر القمر والكونغو وكوت ديفوار وجمهورية الكونغو الديمقراطية وغينيا الاستوائية وإريتريا وإثيوبيا وغامبيا وغانا وغينيا وغينيا بيساو وكينيا وليسوتو وليبيريا ومدغشقر وملاوي ومالي وموريتانيا وموزامبيق والنيجر ورواندا وساو تومي وبرينسيبي والسنغال وسيراليون والصومال وجنوب السودان وسوازيلاند وتنزانيا وتوغو وأوغندا وزامبيا وزمبابوي

المنطقة العربية

جيبوتي ، فلسطين (الضفة الغربية وقطاع غزة) ، السودان ، الجمهورية العربية السورية ، اليمن

اختيار

سيتم الحكم على المسابقة من قبل لجنة متميزة من العلماء الدوليين ، بما في ذلك أعضاء TWAS و OWSD و ICTP ، ويرأسها OWSD. وسيستند التقييم إلى الإنجازات التي تحققت في الميدان ، مع إيلاء اهتمام خاص لمساهمة المرشحين في بناء القدرات في مناطقهم ، فضلاً عن التأثير الدولي. سيتم إبلاغ الفائزين باختيارهم في نوفمبر.

الترشيحات

تتم دعوة الترشيحات من كبار الأكاديميين ، بما في ذلك أعضاء OWSD ، وزملاء TWAS ، و ICTP يزور العلماء والموظفين ، وأكاديميات العلوم الوطنية ، ومجالس البحوث الوطنية ورؤساء الإدارات / الجامعات في كل من البلدان النامية والمتقدمة. يرجى ملاحظة أنه لا يتم قبول الترشيح الذاتي. يجب إجراء الترشيحات عبر الإنترنت ؛ يجب أن تتضمن السيرة الذاتية للمرشح والقائمة الكاملة للمنشورات وأن تكون مصحوبة بحرفين مرجعيين بالإضافة إلى بيان دعم إضافي من قبل المرشح (الذي لا يمكن أن يكون أحد الحكام).

إرسال التسمية

استئناف الترشيح

الموعد النهائي لتلقي الترشيحات عبر الإنترنت 2018: 23 September 2018

سيتم إخطار المرشحين الناجحين بحلول شهر نوفمبر 2018 وسيتعين عليهم التقدم فورًا للحصول على تأشيرات للسفر إلى واشنطن العاصمة في شهر فبراير 2019.

اتصل بنا

أمانة OWSD
owsd@owsd.net

للمزيد من المعلومات:

قم بزيارة صفحة الويب الرسمية لجوائز OWSD-Elsevier Foundation للعلماء المبتدئات من النساء

اترك رد

الرجاء إدخال تعليقك!
الرجاء إدخال اسمك هنا

2018 OWSD-Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists in the Developing World

Application Deadline: September 28th 2018

Launched in 2010 by The Elsevier Foundation, TWAS and OWSD, the Awards reward and encourage women working and living in developing countries who are in the early stages of their scientific careers. Awardees must have made a demonstrable impact on the research environment both at a regional and international level and have often overcome great challenges to achieve research excellence.

In 2010, this scheme included the selection of 11 early career women from developing countries, working in STEM subjects.  From 2013-2018, in order to provide more focus and visibility, the number of awards was reduced to 5 per year and scientific disciplines were introduced on a 3-year cycle.

Each year a total of five Awards are given to five women scientists at relatively early stages in their careers (up to ten years after receiving their PhD). One woman is awarded for each of the four OWSD regions (plus an additional winner from any of the four regions): Africa; the Arab region; Asia and Pacific; Latin America and the Caribbean; (see complete list of countries below).

The award has an important impact on local research cultures. Previous winners say the awards have had a powerful effect, enhancing the visibility of their past work and creating new opportunities for the future. The awardees are powerful role models for young women who are contemplating whether to remain in an environment that is often hostile to their needs and experience.

Eligibility 

The nominee must be a female scientist; have received her PhD within the previous 10 years; and have lived and worked in one of the following developing countries during the three years immediately prior to the nomination:

Africa

Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Côte d’Ivoire, Dem  Rep Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique,  Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Arab Region

Djibouti, Palestine (West Bank & Gaza Strip), Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Yemen

Selection 

The competition will be judged by a distinguished panel of international scientists, including members of TWAS, OWSD and ICTP, and chaired by OWSD. The assessment will be based on achievements in the field, with particular attention paid both to the nominees’ contribution to capacity-building in their region, as well as international impact. Winners will be informed of their selection in November.

Nominations 

Nominations are invited from senior academics, including OWSD members, TWAS Fellows, ICTP visiting scientists and staff, national science academies, national research councils and heads of departments/universities both in developing and developed countries. Please note that self-nominations are not accepted. Nominations must be made online; they must include the candidate’s curriculum vitae and full list of publications and be accompanied by two reference letters plus an additional supporting statement by the nominator (who cannot be one of the referees).

SUBMIT NOMINATION

RESUME NOMINATION

Deadline for completed 2018 online nominations: 23 September 2018

Successful candidates will be notified by November 2018 and will need to apply immediately for visas for travel to Washington, DC, in February 2019.

Contact

OWSD Secretariat
owsd@owsd.net

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the OWSD-Elsevier Foundation Awards for Early-Career Women Scientists

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here