Finalists for the 2014 Commonwealth Youth Worker Awards Announced

 The Commonwealth is pleased to announce the finalists for the Commonwealth Youth Worker Awards 2014, which recognise the contribution of youth workers and their enduring positive impact on young people and local communities.

Twelve youth workers from countries as diverse as Ghana, India, Jamaica and Malaysia have been selected as regional finalists. Winners will be announced on 5 November, during Commonwealth Youth Work Week, at a ceremony at the Houses of Parliament in London.

The Commonwealth Youth Worker Awards acknowledge and celebrate the efforts of outstanding youth workers from across the Commonwealth, a voluntary association of 53 countries.

The judging panel for the awards included representatives of the Commonwealth Secretariat, youth professionals and young people. One winner will be selected from each region, and one of the regional winners will be declared Commonwealth Youth Worker of the Year 2014.

Youth Work Week takes place from 3 to 9 November 2014. This pan-Commonwealth celebration of youth work was established by the Commonwealth in partnership with the UK’s National Youth Agency. This year, the theme is ‘Youth empowerment through soft skills’.


Ghana – Peter Akai Anum, National Director, Head of State Awards
Kenya – Abdikadir Aden Hassan, Chief Executive, Youth for Environmental Sustainability Network
South Africa – Bernice Hlagala, Social Worker and Senior Policy Analyst, The Presidency / University of Venda
Uganda – Dan Boston, Founder and Managing Director, R.A.I.S.E


India – Pravin Nikam, Founder, ROSHNI Youth Organization
India – Aprajita Pandey, Haiyya: Organize for Action
Malaysia – Raj Ridvan Singh, Co-Founder/Social Entrepreneur, SOLS 24/7
Sri Lanka – Witharanage Sachinda Dulanjana, Founder, H3 Foundation (Hearts & Hands of Humanity)


Jamaica – Takisha Sten-Barnes, Head of Agency, National Centre for Youth Development, Ministry of Youth and Culture
Montserrat – Loni Howe, Youth Officer, Ministry of Education & Youth Affairs
Trinidad & Tobago – Steven Edwards, Founder, Executive Chairman and Creative Director, Transformation Through Theatre and Technology
Trinidad & Tobago – Derrick Sharbodie, Founder and Manager for St James Police Youth Club

 For  More Information:


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.