Food Sustainability Media Award 2018 for emerging & professional journalists (€10,000 euros cash prize & Funded to BCFN International Forum)

Application Deadline: 31st May 2018

The Food Sustainability Media Award aims to recognise the work of professional journalists and emerging talent from all over the world for excellence in reporting and communicating issues related to food security, sustainability, agriculture and nutrition.

Media coverage of food is often limited to how it tastes. While that’s important, the Food Sustainability Media Award goes beyond taste – recognising that food is really ‘good’ when it benefits people and the planet. The global food system faces unprecedented challenges. Poverty, over-consumption, growing population and climate change are some of the most critical threats to our Planet. Now, more than ever, there is a pressing need to shed light on some of the paradoxes affecting our food system.

•Hunger & Obesity – for every undernourished person there are now two obese or overweight people in the world;

•Food & Fuel – a third of agricultural cereal crops are used to produce animal feed or biofuels despite hunger and malnutrition;

•Waste & Starvation – 1.3 billion tons of edible food is wasted every year, four times the amount needed to feed the 815 million undernourished people around the world. Food sustainability is a global concern, and we believe the media has a key role to play.

By informing and shedding light on today’s food paradoxes, the media at large can engage consumers so that – in turn – they can contribute to the creation of a more equitable and sustainable future, starting from their food choices.


  • The Award is open to journalists, freelancers and amateur reporters.
  • Work produced by amateur reporters, freelancers or staffers from a news/media outlet is eligible.
  • All entries should focus on stories and issues around the theme of food sustainability.
  • The Award recognises the outstanding work of journalists and emerging talents across four categories: written journalism (published and unpublished) and multimedia (published and unpublished).
  • The Award is open only to those who are at least 18 years of age at the time of entry.
  • Proof of age may be required.

Award Categories:

For the Award’s two categories, both published and unpublished work can be submitted. Published and unpublished entries will be judged separately.

In addition, published and unpublished finalists in both categories will be put forward for the Best of the Web Award. The winner of this award will be chosen by the public.

Written Journalism

This category recognises excellence in written journalism for a news/feature article published in print or online that addresses topics, stories or issues related to food sustainability through distinctive, accurate and original reporting.


This category honours exceptional video, photography and audio content that sheds light on stories related to food sustainability through in-depth visual and audio storytelling and original and creative use of a chosen medium.

Award Prizes

• All the recipients of the Award (the “Winners”) will receive an Award certification for their respective category.
• Winners for the published written and multimedia categories (2 in total) will receive a 10,000 euro cash prize/each.
• All Winners for the published and unpublished written and multimedia categories (4 in total) will have the possibility to attend the 9th BCFN International Forum and be awarded on stage;
• Winners for the unpublished written and multimedia categories (2 in total) and all unpublished category finalists (4 in total, 2 for the unpublished written category and 2 for the unpublished multimedia category) will receive an all-expense paid trip to attend a Thomson Reuters Foundation journalism training course on sustainability. Drawing on the expertise and global footprint of Reuters news, the Foundation runs a variety of journalism courses every year. The organisation has trained over 16,000 journalists from around the world.
• The Winner of the ‘unpublished written category’ will also have the opportunity to have her/his work distributed by the Reuters newswire, reaching an estimated 1 billion daily readers.
• The winner of Best on the web receiving the highest number of votes on the Award website will receive an all-expense paid trip to attend a Thomson Reuters Foundation journalism training course on sustainability.


For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the Food Sustainability Media Award 2018 


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.