Global Pluralism Award 2019 for Pluralism Champions ( $150,000 prize)


Application Deadline: April 30th 2018

The Global Pluralism Award recognizes pluralism in action. It celebrates the extraordinary achievements of organizations, individuals and governments who are tackling the challenge of living peacefully and productively with diversity.

The Award is presented once every two years to individuals, organizations, governments and businesses of any nationality. Through their remarkable and sustained achievements, awardees contribute to building more inclusive societies in which human diversity is protected.

Presented by the Global Centre for Pluralism, an international research and education centre located in Ottawa, Canada, the Award aims to

  • Raise the international profile of pluralism, defined as a principle of respect for diversity,
  • Identify and disseminate innovative and successful approaches to pluralism globally, and
  • Recognize and raise the profile of exemplary organizations, individuals or other entities seeking to advance pluralism.


Nominees must demonstrate remarkable and sustained achievement in any of the wide range of disciplines related to pluralism. These disciplines include:

  • legal reform
  • human rights
  • democracy promotion,
  • social cohesion
  • education
  • ethnic relations
  • conflict resolution
  • peacebuilding
  • migration and integration

Please note that the above is not an exhaustive list.

International Nominees

Eligible nominees from all countries are eligible, including:

  • individuals (e.g. artists, journalists, academics, policy-makers, filmmakers, etc.);
  • civil society organizations (e.g. professional associations, faith-based organizations, labour unions, non-profit research or educational institutions, local community groups, non-governmental organizations, foundations, think tanks, etc.);
  • social enterprises;
  • corporations;
  • educational, research and policy institutions (public or private);
  • local/municipal, regional or federal/national branches of governments, etc.
  • Nominees must be living. The Award cannot be given posthumously.
  • Nominees must not be an agency or employee of any of the Centre’s founding partners, namely the Government of Canada and the Aga Khan Development Network.
  • Nominees must not be members of the jury, the Centre’s Board or staff or a consultant receiving remuneration from the Centre at the time of nomination. Close relations and organizations owned or operated by the jury, Screening Committee, the Centre’s Board members and staff are also non-eligible.
  • Individuals and organizations nominated for the Award must not have been found guilty of committing violent crimes, terrorism, or other criminal activities; or have publicly held extremist views


  • Each winner will receive a commemorative sculpture that has been designed and handcrafted by renowned German artist, Karl Schlamminger.
  • The Global Pluralism Award sculpture integrates the trefoil motif of the Centre’s headquarters at 330 Sussex Drive, Ottawa, Canada in a dodecahedron. By extracting 12 units from that tracery and recombining them into a dodecahedron, Schlamminger obtained the form which conveys the idea of a global initiative.
  • The filigree allows the viewer to look through the object having a total view of the outside and inside. When pivoted, a multiple variety of aspects, integrated harmoniously, become apparent. The resulting threedimensional latticework yields a plurality of intersections, offering ever new vantage points, symbolizing pluralism.

The Award sculpture is made of noble materials: sandblasted stainless steel for the sphere, bog oak for the plinth and anodized aluminum for the name plates.

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the Global Pluralism Award 2018 



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.