RIBA International global prize 2018 for architecture

Application Deadline: 17 October 2017

The RIBA International Prize, established in 2015, is the first global prize for architecture that has been created by the RIBA. The prestigious prize is open to any registered architect in the world and is awarded to a new building of any size, type or budget.

The prize celebrates architectural ambition on a global scale and is an invitation to showcase how design is addressing the concerns of today.

RIBA are calling for practices worldwide to submit their projects for consideration for the RIBA International Prize 2018 – from small scale innovative designs to major cultural developments – all will be considered in this search for an example of the best in civic architecture today. Projects should have been completed within the past two years, and the winning building will exemplify visionary and innovative thinking, excellence of execution but also the distinct contribution that it makes to its users and to its physical context.

The prize brings international attention to the most inspiration and significant new buildings created across the globe but also to a range of the industry’s leading talents, and the visionary clients that have commissioned these buildings.


The RIBA International Prize is open to any qualified architect.

To enter a building outside the UK the project director must:

  • be a qualified architect
  • have completed the building, which must have been occupied (partially-occupied commercial and housing projects subject to RIBA approval) between 1 January 2014 and 1 October 2017
  • have the client’s permission to submit the building

How to enter

To enter you must create a user account and submit your project to the RIBA Awards online portal.
Your RIBA Awards account username and password are not the same as your RIBA Membership details.

To create your awards account you will need the following:

  • An email address. This contact should be the individual co-ordinating your awards entries.
  • For UK projects – an individual RIBA, RSAW, RIAS, RSUA or RIBA International Fellowship member number. The membership number should be up to 8 digits long and contain numbers only e.g. 12345678.
  • For International projects – International awards are open to any qualified architect. You will need to provide evidence of the project director’s membership of an organisation such as the RIBA, or registration with an architecture registration board. If you are not a member of any such organisation, we will need details of your qualification certificate and the academic institute you graduated from.

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the RIBA International global prize 2017



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.