The Energy of Words Prize 2013 – International Media Award.


Application Deadline: April 1st 2013

The Energy of Words Prize is an annual international media award established by the Global Energy non-profit partnership in 2004. Each year it recognizes journalists from around the world who through their work have made a significant contribution to the awareness and understanding of global energy issues, trends and solutions.

Entry Requirements

Nominations are accepted on the basis of the submission of a single piece of work from the journalist concerned. Articles, opinion pieces and interviews published in journals, magazines and newspapers, including those published online, are accepted for consideration; submissions should include a maximum 400 word abstract of the article submitted (in English).

The submitted article must have been published between 1 March 2012 and 28 February 2013. Articles are accepted in any language provided that an abstract of the article is submitted in English.

All entries for the Energy of Word Prize must be received by 1 April 2013. Any entries submitted after this date will not be considered for the award.


Nomination for the award can be made by:

• Authors;

• The publication in which the piece was originally published;

• Publishers;

• Journalistic societies or groups;


The winner will receive a week long, all-expenses paid trip to St Petersburg, Russia, and will participate as a special guest in the international Global Energy Prize Laureate’s Week. The winner will also be given an exclusive interview with the 2013 Global Energy Prize Laureate.

Awards Ceremony

The winner will be heralded at the annual international Global Energy Awards ceremony. This year, the awards ceremony will take place at the St Petersburg International Economic Forum during the Global Energy Prize Laureates’ Week in June 2013.

Past winners

Winners of the Energy of Word Prize include:

• Mr. Martin Fackler, the Tokyo bureau chief of The New York Times, for his exceptional contributions to the coverage of international energy issues with his series of articles on Fukushima.

• Mr. Terry Macalister, Energy Editor of The Guardian, for coverage of the exploration and production of oil in the Article circle.

A full list of previous winners can be found here


Submissions are judged on the basis of the following criteria:

• Subject – All submissions must be related to a contemporary energy issue.

• Insight – Submissions must provide innovative views and/or research into the subject.

• Objectivity – Features must provide unbiased analysis of the subject.

• Quality of research – Submissions are expected to uphold a rigorous level of research.

• Quality of writing – Submissions are expected to have a high standard of writing.

Submissions are judged by the Global Energy Prize International Award Committee. The Committee chooses up to two winners each year.  The decision of the panel is final.

For More Information: Apply Now for the Energy of Words Prize 2013



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.