UNESECO (GAPMIL) Global Media and Information Literacy 2018 Awards

Application Deadline: September 18th 2018

The GAPMIL Awards will recognize information/library, media and technology specialists, educators, artists, activists, researchers, policy makers, NGOs, associations and other groups integrating MIL (media and information literacy) in an innovative way in their work and related activities. Specifically, the awards will recognize excellence and leadership in five sectors: Education, Research, Policy, Advocacy, Media and communication/information sectors.

The GAPMIL Awards are presented every year at the Global MIL Week feature conference. For 2018, the GAPMIL Awards are led by GAPMIL and the Media and Information Literacy and Intercultural Dialogue (MILID) University Network with the support of UNESCO, UNAOC, Vytautas Magnus University, and University of Latvia.

Work in any area/sector can be recognized within these five overall categories, as long as the activities reflect integration of media and information literacy concepts, including intercultural dialogue, in education, research, policy, advocacy and the communication and information industries (including cultural industries).

Nominations should:

  1. Describe how the nominee’s work and activities impact specific groups or society at large.
  2. Describe how the nominee’s practices do influence or could influence the media and Information Literacy field at large, in a local or global context.
  3. Provide links to pictures, video clips or testimonials and any other published content (if appropriate) produced by the nominee.

In 2018, the Global MIL Awards reflect specific areas of expertise or advocacy within these five overall categories. Nominees are expected to be champions and promoters of Media and Information Literacy (MIL) in connection with one or more of the following areas:

  • Cultural, ethnic and gender equality;
  • Diversity and pluralism;
  • Tolerance, peace and efforts aimed at countering hate;
  • Intercultural/interreligious dialogue and equality;
  • Freedom of expression, access to or right to information;
  • Privacy;
  • International cooperation on MIL.

In addition, nominees should be supporters of critical, constructive spaces for knowledge sharing, research and debate. Please note that this list is not exhaustive; others areas will be considered as well.

The work of the award winners may also be related to one or more of the following fields, which are central tenets of the UN Sustainable Development Goals:

  • Health
  • Peace building
  • Economic development
  • Environmental sustainability
  • Fundamental rights
  • Poverty reduction
  • Cultural diversity

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the UNESECO (GAPMIL) Global Media and Information Literacy 2018 Awards



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.