2015 Nigerian Society of Engineers National Engineering Innovation Prize (35 Million Naira Innovation prize)

Application Deadline: Friday, 31st July, 2015 Midnight.

The Nigerian Society of Engineers National Engineering Innovation Prize is delighted to announce the call for the 2015 National Engineering Innovation Prize (NEIP) applications. The NEIP honours and encourages innovative ideas and inventions in technology and engineering careers as well as business opportunities with potential of contributing to sustainable development in Nigeria.

Priority Areas:

The NEIP recognizes innovative breakthroughs that unlock new potentials in the following four priority areas. The award is not restricted to these areas therefore if there are innovations in a different thematic area applications can still be submitted for entry.

  • Agriculture and Environment
  • Transportation, Energy, Water and Housing
  • Information and Communications Technologies (ICTs)
  • Manufacturing and Service Industry

Application Procedure:

You should consider submitting your application if you are a Nigerian student, entrepreneur, corporate entity, academic and research institution with an innovation that could potentially provide a solution to some of the everyday challenges.

Below are specific guidelines on who can apply and how to apply:

  • Eligible innovations MUST be by Nigerians. Nigerians in the Diaspora can also apply if their innovations are of significance to Nigeria.
  • An application with a full description of the innovation must be sequentially explained with pictorial representation using PowerPoint.
  • The innovation description should clearly illustrate the social and/or economic outcome and impact with regard to Africa development and the priority area chosen, and should be in line with the NEIP assessment and selection criteria.
  • Application and description of the innovation should be in English.
  • Applicants have the option to attach a letter of support/endorsement from an institution or an authority with knowledge of their innovation. This will serve as a testimony of how important the innovation is in addressing development challenges faced by Nigerians.
  • There is no application fee.


The 2015 NEIP will consist of three Prize categories, awarded on three separate levels for each category. They are:

1. Schools (Institutions of learning and research)

2. Individuals: These are self-sponsored and independent of any organisation

3. Corporate organisations and industry giants.

Levels of award in each category are;

  • First Prize (N20M): This prize will be awarded to the innovator with the overall best innovation that meets all the above-mentioned NEIP criteria and has a clear business potential.
  • Second Prize (N10M): This prize will be given to the selected innovator with a commercially-driven innovation. In addition to the aforementioned criteria, this category of award will be carefully assessed on its marketability potential and will be awarded to the innovation with the best commercial/business potential.
  • Third Prize (N5M): This category of award will be assessed carefully on its particular social impact in the community/country and will be awarded to the innovation with the best social impact.

Selection Criteria

The following are the five criteria to be considered:

  1. Originality: The uniqueness of the product and its superiority in comparison with similar or alternative products in the market;
  2. Marketability: The extent to which the innovation sufficiently addresses the problem it seeks to solve at a price or model that is accessible to the target market;
  3. Scalability: The extent to which the innovation can be easily applied to other similar markets beyond the applicant’s immediate or local environment;
  4. Social impact: The ability of the innovation to create or effect positive or desirable changes within the target community and beyond;
  5. Scientific/technical aspects: For tangible technical/scientific products; this refers to the extent to which the technical/scientific specifications of the innovation are grounded on established science and sufficiently address any anticipated product risks.

Apply Now for the Nigerian Society Of Engineers  National Engineering Innovation Prize


For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the Nigerian Society Of Engineers  National Engineering Innovation Prize


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.