2015 TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize for Scientists from Developing Countries (USD100,000 Prize)

Application Deadline: Deadline: 30 April 2015

Together, TWAS and Lenovo are offering the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize, which is intended to give international recognition and visibility to outstanding scientific achievements made by individual scientists in developing countries.

TWAS, The World Academy of Sciences for the advancement of science in developing countries, was founded in 1983 in Trieste, Italy. It is administered by UNESCO through an agreement between the Italian government and UNESCO. TWAS’s principal aim is to promote scientific capacity and excellence for sustainable development in the South.

Lenovo is a USD 38.7-billion personal technology company – and the largest PC company in the world, serving customers in more than 160 countries. Dedicated to building exceptionally engineered PCs and mobile internet devices, Lenovo’s business is built on product innovation, a highly efficient global supply chain and strong strategic execution.


The specific subject area for nominations will change in each year.

  • The first four-year cycle (2013-2016) will focus on the basic sciences, rotating between
    physics and astronomy (2013), biological sciences (2014), mathematics (2015) and
    chemical sciences (2016).


  • Candidates must be nationals of developing countries, living and working in the South for
    at least the last 10 years.
  • The prizes will only be awarded to individuals for scientific research of outstanding international merit carried out at institutions in developing countries.


  • The prize carries a monetary award of USD100,000, generously provided by Lenovo, a medal and a certificate bearing a citation highlighting the major contributions for which the prize is awarded.
  • The prize will be presented to the recipient at a special ceremony arranged by TWAS and Lenovo.


  • Nominations are invited from TWAS members, selected individuals, as well as from science academies, national research councils, universities and scientific institutions. Nominations of women scientists are particularly encouraged.
  • Self-nominations and nominations from jury members will not be accepted.


Additional information and nomination forms
are available from the TWAS Secretariat
([email protected], www.twas.org).

  • Nominations for the 2015 prize should reach
    the TWAS Secretariat by 30 April 2015 at:
    TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize
    TWAS Secretariat
    ICTP campus, Strada Costiera 11
    34151 Trieste, Italy
    Telephone: +39 040 2240387
    E-mail: [email protected]

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the TWAS-Lenovo Science Prize, 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.