2016 Commonwealth Youth Awards for Excellence in Development Work

Application Deadline: August 31st 2015

Do you know a young person making a positive difference in your community or country?

Nominations are open for the 2016 Commonwealth Youth Awards for Excellence in Development Work. These awards recognise inspiring young people whose development work has had a significant impact on people and communities in their country or region.

Young people aged 15 to 29 years can apply for the awards, which celebrate the achievements of those who lead initiatives to enhance democracy and development, from poverty alleviation to climate change, to peace building.

A total of 16 finalists will be shortlisted from four Commonwealth regional categories: Africa and Europe, Asia, Americas and Caribbean, and Pacific.

Criteria for nomination

Individuals are able to nominate themselves or can be nominated by someone who is able to vouch for the legitimacy of the nominee’s development work. The nominee must meet the following criteria:

  • The nominee must have been engaged in their development work for more than 12 months either in a professional or voluntary capacity
  • The nominee must be from a Commonwealth member country
  • The development work must be ongoing and in a Commonwealth member country
  • The nominee should not be older than 29 on 31 December 2016
  • Nominees should give permission for their names to be put forward (if nominated by someone else).
  • Award winners and finalists must agree to take part in publicity and activities generated by the Commonwealth.
  • The development work can be within any number of areas, including agriculture, skills training, arts and culture, environment protection, education, health and well-being, human rights, information and communications technology, journalism and many more areas including sport, science and sustainability.


  • A winner will be selected from each region, and invited to London, United Kingdom, in early 2016 for a formal awards presentation.
  • In addition to four regional award winners, one exceptional entrant will be recognised as Commonwealth Young Person of the Year 2016 for Excellence in Development Work.
  • The finalists will receive cash grants of GBP£1,000 to continue their development work, and will each be awarded a trophy and certificate.
  • Each regional winner will receive a cash grant of GBP£3,000, while the Commonwealth Young Person of the Year will receive GBP£5,000 to support an ongoing project or initiative.

Nomination Process:

Complete the online nomination form to submit a nomination.

You will be required to provide:

  • Details about yourself
  • Details about the person you are nominating (if nominating someone)
  • The reasons you think the nominee (or you, if you are nominating yourself) deserves to win
  • A description of the development work and how it makes a positive difference to the lives of others.

Awards will be decided on the basis of:

  • Quality of impact
  • Level of innovation/fresh approaches to problem-solving
  • Quality of achievement
  • Quality of the evidence provided
  • Sustainability: building capacity of future generations to meet their own needs.
The Commonwealth Youth Award for Excellence in Development Work is funded by the Commonwealth Youth Programme (CYP) of the Commonwealth Secretariat.
For More Information:


  1. […] The Commonwealth Youth Awards for Excellence in Development Work aims to raise the profile and highlight the contribution young people make to achieving the Sustainable Development Goals (SDG’s). This award is presented to young people who are taking action to address development challenges in the world today from poverty, unemployment, climate change, violent extremism, lack of access to education etc. and are making a remarkable difference in the lives of the people in their local community, village, province, country, region and world at large. […]


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.