2015/2016 Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation – GBP 25,000 prize for ambitious and talented sub-Saharan African engineers.

Submission Deadline: Monday 29 June 2015

The Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation encourages ambitious and talented sub-Saharan African engineers to apply their skills to develop scalable solutions to local challenges, highlighting the importance of engineering as an enabler of improved quality of life and economic development. The aim of the Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation is to stimulate, celebrate and reward innovation and entrepreneurship in sub-Saharan Africa.
Applications are invited from engineers in sub-Saharan Africa who have developed an innovation
that can provide scalable solutions to local challenges. Engineers from all engineering d isciplines are invited to enter, who can provide a letter of support from a university or research institution.
The Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation is organised by the Royal Academy of Engineering
  • The overall winner of the GBP 25,000 prize will be announced at a high-profile event in May 2016
  • Shortlisted applicants will receive a six-month package of tailored support to help them achieve commercial success from their innovation.
Eligibility Criteria
  • Applicants must have developed (or co-developed), or be in the process of developing (or co-developing) a new technological innovation.
  • Applicants should have the ambition to take a leading role in creating a new business to commercialise this innovation.
  • The applicant’s innovation can be any new product, technology or service, based on research in engineering defined in its broadest sense to encompass a wide range of fields, including: agricultural technology, biotechnology, chemical engineering, civil engineering, computer science, design engineering, electrical and electronic engineering, ICT, materials science, mechanical engineering, and medical engineering. If you are in any doubt that your area of expertise would be considered engineering then please contact the Academy to discuss your application.
Specific eligibility criteria are as follows:
  • Applicants must be individuals or groups of no more than three people.
  • Individual applicants must be citizens of a country within sub-Saharan Africa and currently reside there.
  • For teams of two or three, the lead applicant must be a citizen of a country within sub-Saharan Africa and currently reside there.
  • Applicants must be engineers who can provide a letter of support from a university of research institution.
  • Applicants should have achieved the development of, and be in the early stages of commercialising an engineering innovation that:
  • -will bring social and/or environmental benefits to country/countries in sub-Saharan Africa;
  • -has strong potential to be replicated and scaled up;
  • -is accompanied by an ambitious but realistic business plan which has strong commercial viability
List of eligible countries in sub- Saharan Africa:
  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Botswana
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cameroon
  • Cape Verde
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Republic of the Congo
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Cote d’Ivoire
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon
  • The Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Somalia
  • South Africa
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
How to Apply
You must register though the system before you are able to apply.
  • The application form has six sections to complete.
  • A CV and letter of support is also required.
  • Completing the Application Form After logging in to the online Grant System and selecting the relevant scheme (Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation) you should be presented with the ‘Instructions’ screen. Here you will see some general instructions on how to use the system as well as the six sections of the application form:
1. Application details
2. Your Innovation
3. Your Business Plan
4. About You
5. Supporting Information and Declaration
6. Marketing

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the 2015/2016 Africa Prize for Engineering Innovation


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.