2015/2016 Australia Award Fellowships for Developing Countries.

Application Deadline: 10 September 2014

Australia Awards are prestigious international awards offered by the Australian Government to the next generation of global leaders for development. Australia Awards aim to promote knowledge, education links and enduring ties between Australia, our neighbours and the global community.

Australia engages with developing countries at government, business, professional and community levels. Australia Awards Fellowships offer Australian organisations, from all sectors, the opportunity to deepen and broaden their links with leaders and professionals in developing countries. By providing opportunities for Fellows to undertake short term study and professional development in Australia.

Fellowships are for current and future leaders and mid-career professionals, who will be in a position to advance priority foreign affairs and development issues. Fellowship activities are aimed at providing high-quality training, exchange of expertise, skills and knowledge, and opportunities to enhance networks on issues of shared interest.

Activities can include a combination of short-term study and/or training, professional development, networking and work experience. Grant funding of up to $35,000 per Fellow is offered on a competitive basis to Australian organisations to host Fellows from eligible countries.


Australia Awards Fellowships target senior officials and mid-career professionals, who in the short to medium term, will be in a position to advance priority foreign affairs and development issues.

To be eligible, all Fellows nominated by Australian organizations must:

  • be a minimum of 18 years of age at the time of commencing the Fellowship;
  • not have Australian permanent residence status or be applying for permanent residency;
  • be a citizen of, and residing in, an eligible developing country;
  • not be current serving military personnel;
  • not be married or engaged to, or be a de facto of a person who holds, or is eligible to hold, Australian or New Zealand citizenship or permanent residency;
  • have been working in their country of citizenship and in an area relevant to the Fellowship
  • activities preceding the date of the proposed commencement of their Fellowship;
  • be able to satisfy all requirements of the Department of Immigration and Border Protection for a DFAT Student Visa 576;
  • and
  • be able to participate in the nominated Fellowship activities at the time and for the duration proposed by the Australian organisation

Eligible countries
Australian organisations may nominate Fellows who are citizens of the following countries:

Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Cape Verde, CentralAfrican Republic, Chad, Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire, Congo (Republic of), Congo (Democratic Republic of Congo), Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea (Republic of), Kenya,Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Seychelles
, Sierra Leone,South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia,Zimbabwe.


How to Apply:

Application form Fellowship applications must be submitted online via SmartyGrants at https://fellowships.smartygrants.com.au/

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the Australia Award Fellowships for Developing Countries


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.