2015/2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature (£15,000 Prize,high end device and Mentoring)

Submission Deadline: August 27th 2015

The Etisalat Prize for Literature is the first ever pan-African prize celebrating first time writers of published fiction books. The Prize aims to serve as a platform for the discovery of new creative talent out of the continent and invariably promote the burgeoning publishing industry in Africa.

By recognizing and celebrating writers and other members of the literary community across Africa, Etisalat plans to bring some much needed awareness and acclaim to the art of Fiction writing while also applauding and rewarding the efforts of those who have ventured into this genre in recent times.

Entry Requirements:

It is essential that each book entered fulfills all the criteria.Written confirmation will be required at longlist stage and books will be disqualified If the entry criteria are not met.

  • The book was first published between May 1st 2013 & May 31st 2015
  • The book was published in english and by an author of african citizenship
  • All shortlisted and winning authors will cooperate fully with Etisalat Corporate Communications,
    making themselves available for interviews, events and other opportunities.
  • Shortlisted entries by non-African based publishers require co-publisher partnership with an African based publisher.


  • The Etisalat Prize for Literature celebrates new writers of African citizenship whose first fiction book (over 30,000 words) was published in the last twenty four (24) months.
  • For the purposes of this definition, first book means first printed production in book form of any type or genre.
  • Authors and their publishers can be based anywhere in the world.
  • An online Flash Fiction Prize will be launched later in the year driven entirely by social media – more information on this will be made available on the website.


  • The winner of the Etisalat Prize for Literature receives £15,000, and a high end device.
  • The winning writer will also embark on the Etisalat Fellowship at the University of East Anglia mentored by Professor Giles Foden (author of The Last King of Scotland) which will include significant opportunities to meet other writers, publishers and most importantly work on their second book.
  • The Etisalat Prize for Literature is unique in that it also aims to promote the publishing industry at large and will therefore purchase 1000 copies of all shortlisted books which will be donated to various schools, book clubs and libraries across the African continent


Submit Your Entry Now by Filling out the Application Form

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the 2015/2016 Etisalat Prize for Literature


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.