المعهد الأفريقي للعلوم الرياضية (AIMS) منح 2018 للبحوث الصغيرة في العلوم التغير المناخي (USD 10 000 per Grantee)

الموعد النهائي للتقديم: 30 July 2018 23: 59 CAT

المعهد الأفريقي للعلوم الرياضية Next Einstein Initiative (AIMS NEI) تدعو الأكاديميين الأفارقة المهنية في وقت مبكر من مكانة ما بعد الدكتوراه للتقدم بطلب للحصول على AIMS Small Research Grants in Climate Change Science.

من استغلال الطاقة والزراعة ، إلى التحضر ، والنقل ، وبناء البنية التحتية ، لدى البلدان الأفريقية فرصة فريدة لإنشاء اقتصادات "مناخ ذكي" من خلال تطبيق مفاهيم قائمة على الأبحاث للحد من انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري مع خلق قيمة اقتصادية. وهذا يتطلب فهمًا أعمق للعوامل العرضية لتغير المناخ وأفضل السبل لتطبيق الحجم المتزايد للمعلومات المتعلقة بتغير المناخ للتخفيف ، والاستغلال المفيد ، و / أو التكيف مع تأثيرات تغير المناخ على البشر ، والبيئة ، و الاقتصاد. يُطلب من العلماء الأفارقة التقدم بطلب للحصول على منح أبحاث صغيرة لدعم المشاريع التي من شأنها معالجة هذه القضايا وغيرها من القضايا ذات الصلة ، والمساهمة في تطوير اقتصادات "أكثر حفاظًا على البيئة" و "أذكى" في إفريقيا.

ستدعم هذه المنح المشروعات التي تقع في الحد الأعلى لسلسلة القيمة الخاصة بالابتكار والابتكار - أي المشاريع التي يحتمل أن تحدث أثراً ملموسًا. ويمكن أن تكون مثل هذه المشاريع بقيادة الصناعة أو يقودها المجتمع أو تقودها السياسات ، من بين احتمالات أخرى. يجب أن تستفيد هذه المشروعات من المفاهيم الرياضية لتقديم حلول لقضايا تغير المناخ في إفريقيا. سيتم دعم المشروعات لفترة من 6 إلى 12 بأعلى تكلفة غير متكررة قدرها USD 10 000 لكل من Grantee.

متطلبات

  • ينبغي أن يكون المتقدمون من أصل أفريقي ولكن يمكن أن يقيموا في أي مكان في العالم.
  • يجب على المتقدمين الحصول على درجة الدكتوراه في تخصص كمي يشمل ، على سبيل المثال لا الحصر ، الرياضيات التطبيقية ، وعلم المناخ ، والفيزياء ، والكيمياء ، وعلوم الكمبيوتر ، والإحصاء البيئي ، أو الهندسة.
  • يجب على المتقدمين غير المقيمين في أفريقيا أن يكونوا قادرين على الاحتفاظ بالمنحة في مؤسسة في القارة.
  • يجب على المتقدمين إثبات أدلة على البحث في أي من علم تغير المناخ مع تطبيقات المفاهيم الرياضية أو في العلوم الرياضية مع التطبيقات العملية للتكيف مع تغير المناخ والتخفيف من حدته أو المرونة.
  • يجب على المتقدمين إثبات الخبرة أو القدرة على (المشارك) الإشراف على طلاب الماجستير و / أو الدكتوراه إذا كانوا يعتزمون إنشاء مجموعة / فريق بحثي. يمكن إنشاء مثل هذه المجموعة / الفريق البحثي بالتعاون مع مستشار كبير للمشروع. ﯾﺟب أن ﯾﮐون ﻟﻟﻣﻧﻔرد اﻟﺣﺻول ﻋﻟﯽ دور إﺷراﻓﻲ ﻣﺷﺗرك (ﻣﺷﺗرك) ﻓﻲ اﻟﻣﺷروع.
  • يجب على المتقدمين إثبات القدرة على ترجمة مفاهيم بحوث علم تغير المناخ إلى حلول أو توصيات قابلة للتطبيق. هذا مهم بشكل خاص لمشروعات إثبات المفهوم ، والمشروعات التجريبية ، التي تقودها الصناعة ، والموجهة إلى السياسات ، والمجتمعات المحلية.
  • يجب أن يكون مقدمو الطلبات على استعداد لإجراء ارتباط في مركز AIMS من اختيارهم وقضاء جزء من وقت منحهم في هذا المركز كباحث زائر إذا دعت الحاجة إلى ذلك.
  • ينبغي على مقدمي الطلبات أن يكونوا على استعداد للمشاركة بنشاط في مؤتمر سيتم تنظيمه كجزء من برنامج الرياضيات الرياضي من أجل التكيف مع تغير المناخ.
  • يجب أن يكون مقدمو الطلبات على استعداد للمساهمة في منشور / نشرة غير فنية من شأنها تسليط الضوء على عملهم.
  • يجب أن يكون المتقدم قادراً على الحصول على المنحة في غضون أربعة أشهر من استلام رسالة منح المنحة.

كيفية تطبيق

أرسل المستندات التالية بالبريد الإلكتروني في مرفق واحد لـ
ms4cr-smallgrants@nexteinstein.org (مع سطر الموضوع "MS4CR المنح الصغيرة - الاسم الأول واسم العائلة للمتقدم") بواسطة 23: 59 CAT على 30 July 2018:

يجب على ثلاثة حكام إرسال رسائل دعم سرية عبر البريد الإلكتروني إلى ms4cr-smallgrants@nexteinstein.org مباشرة (مع سطر الموضوع "MS4CR رسالة دعم تطبيق المنح الصغيرة - الاسم الأول واسم العائلة لمقدم الطلب") في الموعد النهائي لتقديم الطلبات أو قبله. يجب على المتقدمين تزويد حكامهم بنسخة من اختصاصات منح البحوث الصغيرة و ال تعليمات للحكام.

للمزيد من المعلومات:

قم بزيارة صفحة الويب الرسمية الخاصة بمنحة AIMS 2018 للبحوث الصغيرة في مجال تغير المناخ

اترك رد

الرجاء إدخال تعليقك!
الرجاء إدخال اسمك هنا

يستخدم هذا الموقع Akismet لتقليل المحتوى غير المرغوب فيه. تعرف على كيفية معالجة بيانات تعليقك.

The African Institute for Mathematical Sciences (AIMS) 2018 Small Research Grants in Climate Change Science (USD 10 000 per Grantee)

Application Deadline: 30 July 2018 23:59 CAT

The African Institute for Mathematical Sciences Next Einstein Initiative (AIMS NEI) invites early career African academics of postdoctoral standing to apply for the AIMS Small Research Grants in Climate Change Science.

From energy exploitation and agriculture, to urbanization, transportation and the construction of infrastructure, African countries have a unique opportunity to establish ‘Climate Smart’ economies by applying research-based concepts to reduce greenhouse gas emissions while creating economic value. This requires a deeper understanding of the casual factors of climate change and how best to apply the increasing volume of climate change-related information to mitigate, beneficially exploit, and/or adapt to the impacts of climate change on humans, the environment, and the economy. African scientists are hereby called upon to apply for Small Research Grants to support projects that would address these and other related issues, and contribute to the development of ‘greener’ and ‘smarter’ economies in Africa.

These Grants will support projects that are at the upper limit of the research-innovation value chain — i.e. projects that are likely to make a tangible impact. Such projects could be industry-led, community-driven, or policy-led, among other possibilities. These projects should make substantive use of mathematical concepts to provide solutions to climate change issues in Africa. Projects will be supported for a period of 6 to 12 months at a non-recurring maximum cost of USD 10 000 per Grantee.

Requirements

  • Applicants should be of African descent but could be residing anywhere in the world.
  • Applicants must hold a doctorate in a quantitative discipline including, but not limited to, applied mathematics, climatology, physics, chemistry, computer science, statistical ecology, or engineering.
  • Applicants not based in Africa must be able to hold the grant in an institution on the continent.
  • Applicants should demonstrate evidence of research in either climate change science with applications of mathematical concepts or in mathematical sciences with practical applications to climate change adaptation, mitigation or resilience.
  • Applicants should demonstrate expertise or ability to (co-)supervise Master’s and/or PhD students if intending to establish a research group/team. Such a research group/team could be established in collaboration with a senior project advisor. The Grantee must have a recognized (co-)supervisory role in the project.
  • Applicants should demonstrate an ability to translate climate change science research concepts to applicable solutions or recommendations. This is particularly important for proof-of-concept, pilot, industry-led, policy-, and community-driven projects.
  • Applicants must be willing to hold an affiliation at an AIMS Centre of their choice and spend a portion of their grant time in that Centre as a visiting researcher should the need arise.
  • Applicants should be willing to actively participate in a conference that will be organized as part of the Mathematical Sciences for Climate Change Resilience program.
  • Applicants must be willing to contribute to a non-technical publication/bulletin which will highlight their work.
  • Applicants should be able to take up the grant within four months of receiving the grant award letter.

How to apply

Email the following documents in a single attachment to
ms4cr-smallgrants@nexteinstein.org (with the subject line “MS4CR small grants – first and last name of applicant”) by 23:59 CAT on 30 July 2018:

Three referees should email confidential letters of support directly to ms4cr-smallgrants@nexteinstein.org (with the subject line “MS4CR small grant application support letter – first and last name of applicant”) on or before the application deadline. Applicants should provide their referees with a copy of the Terms of Reference for the Small Research Grants and the Instructions for Referees.

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the AIMS 2018 Small Research Grants in Climate Change Science

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here