Call for Nominations: The 2013 Courage in Journalism Awards for Women Journalist.


The International Women’s Media Foundation Seeks Nominations for

Each year, the Courage in Journalism Awards honor three women journalists who have demonstrated extraordinary strength of character in pursuing their profession under difficult or dangerous circumstances, such as government oppression, threats to personal safety and other intimidating obstacles.
The Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes a woman journalist who has a pioneering spirit and whose accomplishments have paved the way for future generations of women in the media.

Previous Courage in Journalism Award winners include Khadija Ismayilova, RFE/RL,Azerbaijan, Adela Navarro Bello, Zeta, Mexico; Tsering Woeser, blogger and writer,Tibet; Jill Carroll, The Christian Science Monitor, United States; May Chidiac, LebaneseBroadcasting Corporation, Lebanon and Anna Politkovskaya, Novaya Gazeta, Russia (d.2006).
Previous Lifetime Achievement Award winners include Zubeida Mustafa, writer, Pakistan; Kate Adie, BBC News, Untied Kingdom; Barbara Walters, ABC News, United States and Magdalena Ruiz, Radio Mitre, Argentina.

Nominations for the 2013 awards must be submitted by March 1, 2013.
Candidates for the Courage in Journalism Awards can be full-time, part-time or freelance women reporters, writers, editors, photographers or producers working in any country.
Digital news media candidates are accepted. Lifetime Achievement Award candidates can be either working or retired journalists.
Nominations may be submitted in English, French, Spanish or Russian. All nomination forms for both the Courage in Journalism Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award must be completed by an associate of the nominee. Self-nominations are not accepted.

2013 Courage in Journalism Award

Start the Online Nomination process | français | español | русский

Nomination Requirements and Criteria
To learn how to nominate a journalist, visit the IWMF website at
For more information, contact Alana Barton (+1 (202) 496-1992, [email protected]),


follow #IWMFcourage (@IWMF) on Twitter.

Founded in 1990, the mission of the International Women’s Media Foundation is to strengthen the role of women in the news media worldwide. The IWMF empowers women with the tools, knowledge, and confidence to serve as a prominent voice on global issues.

At the core of the IWMF’s mission is the belief that no press is truly free unless women have an equal voice.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.