Application Deadline: 15 February 2014

UNESCO invites the governments of Member States, in consultation with their National Commissions, as well as international and regional professional and non-governmental organizations active in the fields of journalism and freedom of expression to nominate candidates for next year’s UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize

UNESCO established the World Press Freedom Prize in honour of Guillermo Cano, a Colombian journalist who died in the exercise of his profession.
The purpose of the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize is to reward each year a person, organization or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially if risks have been involved.
Awarded annually, on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day (3 May), the Prize is marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000.

How to submit your nomination

Nominations for the Prize should be submitted by filling out the  UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize: Nomination Form 2014 in English or French and sending it before 15 February 2014 by post or by email to:

Communication and Information Sector
Division of Freedom of Expression and Media Development
Section for Freedom of Expression
7 Place de Fontenoy
75007 Paris
E-mail: [email protected]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.