Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships 2013/2014.


Application Deadline: 17th May 2013

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships offer the opportunity to study for a UK Master’s degree while living and working in your home country.

The scheme was established in 2002, as part of the CSC’s and DFID’s commitment to exploring new methods of scholarship delivery. To date, nearly 1,000 Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships have been awarded.

Rather than offering these scholarships directly to students, the CSC works with UK universities to identify appropriate courses and recruit candidates.

Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarships are being offered in 2013 for the following Master’s courses. Full details of these courses and the application process must be obtained from the relevant institution.



To be eligible for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship, candidates should:

  • be Commonwealth citizens of a developing Commonwealth country, refugees or British protected persons
  • be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country
  • normally hold a first degree of upper second-class standard, or higher qualification. In certain cases, we will consider a lower qualification and sufficient relevant experience

The CSC may require candidates to undertake the academic IELTS English language test as a condition of eligibility. Candidates should check with the UK institution/provider whether this requirement applies to them. It is the candidate’s responsibility to note that an IELTS test will only be considered valid if taken after 1 September 2012 for those candidates wishing to start their studies from September 2013 onwards.

Candidates will be asked to provide evidence that they have achieved a minimum overall score of 6.5 on the IELTS scale.

How to apply

Full details of the application process must be obtained from the relevant institution.

The CSC expects all candidates being considered for a Commonwealth Distance Learning Scholarship to have completed an application form using our Electronic Application System (EAS). Full help on how to apply using the EAS is provided in our guides, which should be read in full before making any attempt to use the EAS.

The deadline for applications is 23:59 GMT on 17 May 2013.

How to access the EAS


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.