UNESCO Global Alliance for Partnership on Media and Information Literacy (GAPMIL) Awards 2017

Application Deadline: September 11th 2017

The Global Alliance for Partnership on Media and Information Literacy (GAPMIL) Awards will recognize information/library, media and technology specialists, educators, artists, activists, researchers, policy makers, NGOs, associations and other groups integrating MIL in an innovative way in their work and related activities. Specifically, the awards will recognize excellence and leadership in five sectors: Education, Research, Policy, Advocacy, Media and Communication/Information Industries.

The GAPMIL Awards are presented every year at the Global MIL Week feature conference.

For 2017, the GAPMIL Awards are led by the GAPMIL and the Media and Information Literacy and Intercultural Dialogue (MILID) University Network with the support of UNESCO, UNAOC and the University of the West Indies, Mona.

Awards Criteria

Work in any area/sector can be recognized, as long as the activities reflect integration of media and information literacy concepts, including intercultural dialogue, in education, research, policy, advocacy and the communication and information industries (including cultural industries).

Nominations should describe how the nominee’s work and activities impact specific groups or society at large.

Nominations should describe how the nominee’s practices do influence or could influence the media and Information Literacy field at large, in a local or global context.

Nominations should provide links to pictures, video clips or testimonials and any other published content (if appropriate) produced by the nominee.

Formal and non-formal approaches are welcome in the information/library media, communication and education sectors, and in relevant practices in each subject.

Awards Descriptions

In 2017, the Global MIL Awards reflect specific areas of expertise or advocacy. Nominees are expected to be champions and promoters of Media and Information Literacy (MIL) in connection with one or more of the following areas: cultural, ethnic and gender equality; diversity and pluralism; tolerance, peace and efforts aimed at countering hate; intercultural/interreligious dialogue and equality; freedom of expression, access to or right to information; privacy; international cooperation on MIL. In addition, nominees should be supporters of critical, constructive spaces for knowledge sharing, research and debate. This list is not exhaustive, others areas will be considered.

The work of the award winners may be related to one or more of the following fields: Health, peace building, economic development, environmental sustainability, fundamental rights, poverty reduction, peace, and cultural diversity. These are central tenets of the U.N. sustainable development goals.

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the GAPMIL Awards 2017



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.