European Commission’s 2020 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize for Outstanding Reporting on sustainable development issues. (€10,000 Prize)

Application Deadline: 15 March 2020 23:59 CET. 

The Lorenzo Natali Media Prize was launched in 1992 to recognise and celebrate excellence in reporting on sustainable development issues. The Prize also gives a voice to those whose vital message is often overlooked or ignored. It was created by DG DEVCO, and named after Lorenzo Natali, a precursor of European development policy.

The overarching theme of the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is sustainable development.
Entries to this year’s competition should relate to sustainable development issues such as, but not limited to, fighting poverty and inequalities, human rights, democracy, youth, gender equality, environment and climate change, health, and technology and digital.

The applicants must choose one of these categories when filling in the online form. The Prize is open to journalists in the following three categories:

  1. Grand Prize: reporting published by a media based in one of the European Union’s partner countries on development and cooperation.
  2. Europe Prize: reporting published by a media based in the European Union*.
  3. Best Emerging Journalist Prize: open to journalists under 30 whose reporting was published by a media based in the European Union* or in one of its partner countries on development and cooperation.

Publication period
Entries must have been published (print or online) or broadcasted (radio or television) between 10 March 2019 and 9 March 2020.
For the UK, reporting must have been published between 10 March 2019 and 31 January 2020.

Language requirements
English, French and Spanish are the official languages of the Prize. However, we accept all languages as long as a translation in English, French or Spanish is provided. The entries will be evaluated on the basis of translated texts.

For text-based entries, the length limit is 2,300 words. Video and audio entries can be up to 10 minutes long.

Geographic eligibility
Geographic eligibility is based on the location of the media outlet where the reporting was published. The outlet’s office must be based in an eligible country. For example, reporting published in Reuters India is eligible, while reporting published in Reuters USA is not. For the 2020 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize, entries published in a UK-based outlet are eligible if published between 10 March 2019 and 31 January 2020.

Submitted reporting can have one or several authors. The participants must be the authors and holders of the copyright and the moral rights of their work. Plagiarism, which includes the unauthorised use of the language and thoughts of another author and the representation of them as one’s own, will result in disqualification. Retrospective discovery of plagiarism will result in revocation of title of winners.

There will be up to three winners. Categories will not be awarded if quality is not met. Each winner will receive 10,000€. The winner of the Best Emerging Journalist category will also be offered a work experience opportunity with a media partner.

The winners will be invited to participate in the Award Ceremony to be held in Brussels on 9-10 June

  1. The European Commission will cover the cost of their travels. In the case of jointly authored or produced items, please note that only one person will be sponsored to join the Award Ceremony

How to Apply:

Use the application form. You will need to upload your reporting (text or audio-visual file) as well as a translation of the work in English, Spanish or French if the original is not in one of these languages.
If you decide to submit your application by e–mail, please email [email protected]:

  1. Your reporting
  2. This form with your information
  3. The following declaration to authorise the processing of your personal data:

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the European Commission’s 2020 Lorenzo Natali Media Prize


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.