UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize 2015 (US$25,000 prize)

Application Deadline: February 15 2015

UNESCO established the World Press Freedom Prize in honour of Guillermo Cano, a Colombian
journalist who died in the exercise of his profession. The purpose of the UNESCO/Guillermo
Cano World Press Freedom Prize is to reward each year a person, organization or institution that has made a notable contribution to the defence and/or promotion of press freedom anywhere in the world, especially if risks have been involved.
The objective of the Prize is in conformity with UNESCO’s policies, and it is related to the programme of the Organization in the field of communication and information and, more specifically, to the priority given to promoting an enabling environment for freedom of expression and freedom of information

Awarded annually, on the occasion of World Press Freedom Day (3 May), the Prize is marked by a ceremony and the winner is presented with the sum of US$25,000.

The Prize is funded by the Cano Foundation (Colombia) and the Helsingin Sanomat Foundation (Finland).

How to submit your nomination

Only Member States, regional and international organizations, and professional and non-governmental organizations working in the field of journalism and freedom of expression can nominate candidates.

Nominations for the Prize should be submitted by filling out the form in English or French and sending it before 15 February 2015 by post or by email to:

Communication and Information Sector
Division of Freedom of Expression and Media Development
Section for Freedom of Expression
7 Place de Fontenoy
75007 Paris
E-mail: s.coudray(at)unesco.org

For More Information:

Visit the Official Webpage of the UNESCO/Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.